A Second Attempt to Emulate Winslow Homer

Winslow Homer, Second Attempt

Winslow Homer, Second Attempt

Whatever you think you can do or believe you can do, begin it.  Action has magic, grace, and power in it.”

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

This has been a good Spring Break/Cave Day.  I’m working on a second Winslow Homer composition.  I’ve always been intrigued by his greens, and still haven’t solved that problem.  I love the way you can see the warm soil colors through the tall grasses in his works.  Currently, I’m experimenting with a number of reds (Winsor Red, Permanent Rose, Cadmium Red), to mix with a number of blues (Winsor Blue–Green and Red Shade, Pthalo Turquoise) and Transparent Yellow.  Occasionally I drop in some Winsor Green and Alizarin Crimson. So far, none of it is working, but at least I’m eliminating some choices!  In line with Goethe’s remark, I am finding wonderful power in action.  Truly, I’m having a good time as I chip away at portions of this composition, attempting to solve some color combination problems.

Thanks for reading.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “A Second Attempt to Emulate Winslow Homer”

  1. BJR Says:

    I’m reading your words and like what I see here! Art is a wonderful thing to enjoy!…both creating, and seeing what’s been created. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

