In Memorian II: More on the Passing of my Friend

Charcoal Still Life by Steven A. Mullins, 9th Grade, Art I

Charcoal Still Life by Steven A. Mullins, 9th Grade, Art I

Back on January 9, I posted a tribute to my life-long artist friend who passed away.  I have pasted the link to that blog below:

https://davidtripp.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/in-memoriam-steven-a-mullins-the-passing-of-a-dedicated-artist-and-friend/

When I posted it, I looked in vain for some of his work and photos I had of him, to no avail.  Well, last night I finally came across this photo taken of a charcoal drawing on newsprint paper that he created as a ninth-grade Art I student at Northwest High School in House Springs, Missouri.  This drawing (measuring about 22 x 28″) won multiple awards and catapulted him to the top ranks of high school art students while only a freshman.  He would only get better.

I won’t repeat all that I said in the earlier blog.  The link is above.  But I wanted to post a pastel portrait created of him by one of our Six Flags artists (Steve and I worked the last two summers of our high school at Six Flags Over Mid America, in the potrait drawing studio):

Pastel Portrait of Steve by artist Mattie Ruell

Pastel Portrait of Steve by artist Mattie Ruell

And finally, a photo I took (with a cheap Kodak camera) of Steve playing my 12-string guitar at a college gathering.

Steve Playing Guitar at College

Steve Playing Guitar at College

It’s been nearly three months.  I still miss him.

Thanks for reading.

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

