Watercoloring Saturday in the Man Cave

Plein Air Painting of Waxahachie Bridge

Plein Air Painting of Waxahachie Bridge

The Red River stills flows through my home town
Rollin’ and tumblin’ on its way
Swirling around the old bridge pylons
Where a boy fishes the morning away
His bicycle leans on an oak tree
While the cars rumble over his head
An aeroplane leaves a trail in an empty blue sky
And the young birds call out to be fed.

Neil Young, “It’s a Dream”

A couple of years ago, during the “Paint Historic Waxahachie” plein air event, I set up my easel beneath this 1930-era bridge as a storm gathered overhead.  I was happy with the results, and rather surprised that I have been unable to sell this painting.  Oh well.  A few weeks ago, as I drove along the highway, listening to Neil Young on my CD player, this song played, and I captured the image of what I wanted to do next.  I am usually disappointed in my efforts of painting from a painting, but nevertheless that is what I attempted in the Man Cave today.  I used the old painting above to create the one below.   I enjoyed the experience.  Now I’m drained, and I suppose that after a good night’s sleep, I’ll decide tomorrow whether I like this one or not.  It not, I’ll give it another try, because I certainly want to master this composition.

Neil Young-Inspired Watercolor

Neil Young-Inspired Watercolor

Thanks for reading.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Watercoloring Saturday in the Man Cave”

  1. Xraypics Says:

    Yeah, a painting from a painting, and yet many professional artists do it – the plein air sketch followed by the more thoughtful composition in the studio. I haven’t done it much, but when I have the second time seems to be more full somehow, though it can lose the spontaneity. I like both these paintings for different reasons. Tony

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you Tony. I always have mixed feelings when I do paintings from my paintings (or others’ paintings :). I hear what you’re saying–spontaneity is always lost when I do copy work, though sometimes the second and third attempts yield more professional looks. I have a few other “raw” pieces that I’m considering repeating.

      Like

Leave a Reply

