Keeping the Ball Rolling in the Art Studio

Vintage Tiny Lucky 13

Vintage Tiny Lucky 13

Like all art histories, the history of American art is forged in conflict and refined by necessity.

David A. Ross

Today I came home totally wiped out from STARR testing at our school, that lasted over four hours, followed by lunch, followed by our regular classes of instruction.  Texas has this notion that students will achieve better if they are tested for four straight days, four-and-a-half hours per day, then doing class instruction afterward.  As teachers, we are wiped out, and we’re not even taking the exams.  But again, that’s another story.

Over the past 48 hours, I have drawn inspiration from the Abstract Expressionist movement of the  1940s and 50s, reading extensively from a biography of Willem de Kooning, and from some of my other art history volumes.  Though I don’t try to emulate their styles, I nevertheless love reading of their work habits.  So, today, while struggling through school, I determined I would get back into the Man Cave after dinner and roll the ball a little further.

I have learned plenty from this attempt on this vintage lure.  I still have plenty to do, hoping I can salvage it.  The background disturbs me, and I’m not sure yet how to adjust it.  There are some things with the lure’s body as well that aren’t quite right to me.  Nevertheless, it is a quick 5 x 7″ watercolor sketch done in the space of a late evening in the studio. I enjoyed looking at it, sketching it, attempting to match colors to lure, etc.

Tomorrow with fresh eyes I’ll determine what exactly to do with it before sticking it in a mat and plastic bag.

Thanks for reading.

 

Tags: ,

8 Responses to “Keeping the Ball Rolling in the Art Studio”

  1. Xraypics Says:

    What a fascinating problem you have there ( I don’t mean the school issues ). The organic flow of the background which has the feeling of an underwater scene, contrasting against the hard-edged geometric lure which gives the illusion of a live fish darting through the water; until you see the snags. How to place the fish in this environment, and reconcile the styles of the two different areas? I’m looking forward to seeing what you do with it. Tony

    Like

  2. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    Absolutely beautiful! Wonderful lively background.

    Like

  3. davidtripp Says:

    Thank you, Tony and Linda. I have no idea what to do about that background. I like some of its effects, but don’t much like it against the lure. How to tie them together has me baffled. I won’t rush to judgment here!

    Like

  4. djdfr Says:

    i particularly like that background.

    Like

  5. BJR Says:

    And I do, too!

    Like

  6. davidtripp Says:

    Thanks to both of you, djdfr and BJR. Personally, I thought the background was crappy and was going to try to fix it. But a number of compliments today has me holding back. I think I’ll just start another series. 🙂

    Like

  7. coreyaber Says:

    David, I have been following your blog for some time, starting with the St Ignatius painting, and have taken a lot of lessons and inspiration from both the paintings and the intelligent musings. I have just started my own watercolor and literature blog at coreyaber.wordpress.com. I hope you take a look and enjoy it.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Corey, I just read your blog last night, and signed on to follow you. Thank you for finding me, and responding the way you have. Your work is truly outstanding, and I would love to know more about your writing, your ideas as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

