I Paint In Order to Remember

multiple watercolor sketches of vintage lures in progress

multiple watercolor sketches of vintage lures in progress

Credo ut intelligam (I believe, in order that I may understand)

Anselm of Canterbury

There are moments in our lives, there are moments in a day, when we seem to see beyond the usual.  Such are the moments of our greatest happiness.  Such are the moments of our greatest wisdom.  If one could but recall his vision by some sort of sign.  It was in this hope that the arts were invented.  Sign-posts on the way to what may be.  Sign-posts toward greater knowledge.

Robert Henri

I am more tired than usual this evening.  The school schedule is the pits, with 4.5 hours of testing followed by regular classes in the afternoon.  Today I entered the Cave and began two more 5 x 7″ watercolor sketches, and poked at the two I have been working on previously.  Here is a photo of where they stand now.  I selected these vintage lures, lent by a friend, because they take me back to the late fifties and early sixties, when I fished with push-button reels and “plugs” (we didn’t call them lures) made of wood.  These are from the era I knew as a child.  Today I did some experimenting with salt and a spray bottle, and mixed some pigments I haven’t mixed before to create some different “watery” backdrops for the lures.  I enjoyed tinkering with the compositions for awhile, but feel sleepiness already dragging me down (it’s not even 8 p.m. yet) and my rule is not to create art when I’m fatigued.  So, I guess I’ll stop for now, prepare a late dinner, and see if that will perk me back up.  If so, I’ll push these a little further tonight.

Anselm said he believed in order to understand.  Henri said he painted in order to understand.  I paint in order to remember.

Thanks always for reading.

I journal because I am alone;

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “I Paint In Order to Remember”

  1. Janet Z Capua Says:

    There is something so simplistic about these paintings, they cause me to grin.
    Thanks for the smile. I love remembering also.

    Like

Leave a Reply

