Preparing for the Final Day of the Art Festival

In the Man Cave

In the Man Cave

Art is the inevitable consequence of growth and is the manifestation of the principles of its origin.  The work of art is a result; is the output of a progress in development and stands as a record and marks the degree of development.  It is not an end in itself, but the work indicates the course taken and the progress made. The work is not a finality.  It promises more, and from it projection can be made.

Robert Henri, The Art Spirit

In the past 48 hours, I have had quality time to reflect about the enterprise of making art.  The crowds and sales have been pretty good, the the conversations and new friends and acquaintances have also been very affirming.  Still, there  has been plenty of space to think, and read.  I love this statement from Henri, and am challenged to think about which direction to evolve toward, next.  I don’t want to “whip out Tripps for the trade.”  My hope is that my curiosity will never be satisfied, that I will never reach a state where I believe I have “arrived.”  I love to look at my watercolors as works in progress, as a pursuit of the sublime.  I have one more day left in the festival.  Then, I will gladly return to the studio and see what comes out next.

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Preparing for the Final Day of the Art Festival”

  1. Xraypics Says:

    It is interesting to think about progression of one’s art. I am still having fun digitally rendering Chest X-rays and there’s still some mileage in it. There will inevitably have to be progress, or it will fall to the side. Where to though? Like you I need to remain curious and if the work doesn’t reveal new things there’s no point. I suspect it will reveal itself with time. Going to festivals and exhibiting must be a good thing if only to get the reaction from people. Perhaps that is what I’ll have to do too. Tony

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you for your post, Tony. Festivals are good times for me to “compost” ideas as I sit for days, meet people, hear their responses and gather ideas. I take those times (especially when sales are thin) to write out page after page of “possibilities” because I cannot bear the thought of merely whipping out the same stuff to support the trade. I really want to push the envelope. Thanks for talking with me. Good luck as you squeeze the mileage out of the chest X-rays. It sounds like you’ve found a rich trove worth mining.

      Like

  2. coreyaber Says:

    David,

    First, congratulations on a successful festival.

    The question of what’s next is the big one in any artistic endeavor, and your post connected with me. I like your attitude of watercolor being a constant work in progress. It keeps the question exciting.

    I wonder if pushing the narrative aspect of your greeting cards into the paintings themselves might be an interesting turn. Am I right in noting that there seem to be relatively few people in your paintings? The imagist line of thinking you have recently explored is also interesting, and has sparked a few thoughts for me that I hope to post about soon. On that note, thanks for following my blog. I appreciate your interest, and that of some of your followers.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Coreyaber,
      Thank you for responding. You called it right–there are very few people in my compositions, because I still haven’t “solved” the human figure (in any medium) and though I’ve been successful with the portrait in pastel and oil, I just cannot seem to get satisfying results with watercolor. But I haven’t given up.

      Your watercolor touch is mesmerizing to me. And I am so impressed to meet an artist who is also an author. I love to write, but have only published essays. I have always loved fiction, and have taken some stabs at writing fiction, but frankly have no clue as to whether there is any quality in my written expression.

      It sounds as if both of us are in pursuit of “what’s next”, an exciting place to be. Thankfully the blog provides us an excellent forum, where we can listen to and write to kindred spirits as we engage in this solitary enterprise.

      Thanks for staying with me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

