Closing Out a Weekend of Quality Studio Time

The Man Cave on Sunday Afternoon

The Man Cave on Sunday Afternoon

Still Chipping Away at the Tackle Box Assortment

Still Chipping Away at the Tackle Box Assortment

Right now a moment of time is fleeting by!  Capture its reality in paint!  To do that we must put all else out of our minds.  We must become that moment, make ourselves a sensitive recording plate . . . give the image of what we actually see, forgetting everything that has been seen before our time.

Paul Cezanne

I cannot recall a more pleasant day of painting and reading.  The Man Cave has been still since 7:00 this morning.  The Hemingway biography, and reading I’ve been doing in Cezanne has me feeling serene, and this explosion of color in the vintage tackle box before me has filled me with a boyish sense of wonder.   I know it’s selfish to say, but . . . I regret having to set the alarm and return to my “real job” in the morning, what I would give for another day in the studio!  I envy those who are blessed with retirement, and regret that I started my profession so late in life.  Oh well, in good time.

Cezanne is noted for saying “Treat nature in terms of the cylinder, the sphere, the cone, all in perspective.”  That’s all I’ve had to concentrate on, with this composition before me, that and the arrangement of bright color combinations.

Regretfully, I have to close the studio.  Tomorrow is the “heavy” end of my teaching schedule, and I have much to prepare.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal because I am alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Closing Out a Weekend of Quality Studio Time”

  1. redharparts Says:

    Oh, I can tell you retirement is every bit as good as you imagine. After 30 years of emotionally challenging work, I can now rise each day thinking about how to use the freedom ahead of me and what I might want to create!

    Like

  2. Xraypics Says:

    I’m with you on most of the points above, especially having time in retirement. Well done for getting the tax done – one of my pet hates. Enjoying the development of this painting. Tony

    Like

  3. Deborah Guzzi Says:

    Last December I was in Southern France & went to Cezanne’s Studio. I have an unpublished verse, I would like to show you but it can’t be on your blog David. Send me email & I will send it back to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

