The Fatigue Factor in Painting

Cafe Still Life in my Studio

Cafe Still Life in my Studio

Watercolor Still LIfe

Watercolor Still LIfe

I was an insomniac again last night, not falling asleep till nearly 3 a.m.  Up at 6:00 to get to school.  Tomorrow begins the TAKS testing, and I will need plenty of sleep (and intestinal fortitude) to endure that.

My rule is never to work on an art piece when I’m fatigued.  I came home and did some things to this.  Added more pieces to the checkered table-cloth, reworked the postage, stained the envelope some more, added the handwritten address, darkened the spectacles case, manipulated the shadows further.  Then I got sleepy and decided it was time to lay down the brush before I did something I would regret.

I tried to read further from the Steinbeck biography I’ve recently opened, but could only get about half a dozen pages under my belt before nodding off.

So, I will throw  in the towel and get some sleep.  My sincere hope is that I can go after this with renewed energy, and maybe even finish it tomorrow.  I’m already thinking ahead to three more compositions I want to go after, and that makes it kind of hard to stay devoted to this one.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal because I am alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags:

7 Responses to “The Fatigue Factor in Painting”

  1. Playamart - Zeebra Designs Says:

    you are so very talented! i hit those painting binges as well, though i am guilty of sometimes working or writing all the way through the night. it’s so peaceful and quiet late at night.

    i have the luxury of sleeping in or taking naps to compensate for that all-night paint-a-thons.

    great work!
    z

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you. I’m inspired when I read of others like you doing that sort of thing. I can no longer pull the all-nighters that I used to love so much. And I cannot forget having school the next morning, so I feel kind of “panicky” when the midnight hour tolls and I’m not yet sleepy! But I hear you–I absolutely love the still of the night when the rest of the world has gone to bed, leaving me alone in my Man Cave.

      Like

  2. BJR Says:

    I love this. Reminds me of some of my pieces. I love adding old envelopes, etc. I have this huge collection of old postcards…and also family letters from the latter 1890’s to 1920’s. They add a personal note to a painting…like someone was sitting there reading just a bit before you painted/drew. I also love the solitude to paint and draw. Too bad it happens at night!!

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      BJR–I remember you posting, sometime back, about your collection of correspondence from an earlier era. Your comments were what made me want to pursue this composition, intimidated as I was! I never forgot about the intrigue you described in creating works of art from old, yellowed, postmarked pieces of mail. I love it, and plan to pursue this theme further. Thank you for the idea!

      Like

  3. BJR Says:

    You’re so welcome!! I wondered if you’d remembered when I saw what you were doing. I just love using something someone else has received…and enjoyed!…in my art. And the postmarks always intrigue me. Guess I like putting some emotion in…is that it? This past week I’ve been wiped out…but I’m starting to itch for art…so maybe that’s a good sign. Best wishes to you!

    Like

  4. Martha Keim-St. Louis Says:

    Please keep painting. it soothes my soul.

    Like

Leave a Reply

