Watercoloring en Plein Air with Friends out on the Prairie

Tandy Hills Park, Fort Worth, Texas

Tandy Hills Park, Fort Worth, Texas

 

2nd attempt to Paint Wild Section of Tandy Hills Park, Fort Worth

2nd attempt to Paint Wild Section of Tandy Hills Park, Fort Worth

For the second consecutive weekend, I had the privilege of gathering with my plein air painting friends.  We met at the Tandy Hills Park in east Fort Worth and participated in Prairie Fest, a Green festival that draws a wonderful crowd of environmentally-friendly people, the best kind.  The live music was spectacular, and a number of us found a wonderful patch of wild prairie land on the east side of the park, away from all the festival booths.

I took two shots at the same spot, a stand of trees with natural grasses and flowers in the foreground.  I enjoyed my experiments in masquing and salting, as well as working with water-soluble graphite pencils and watercolor pencils, in addition to my Winsor & Newton pigments.

The skies remained overcast most of the time, so the quality of light was not the greatest.  But the cool breezes were certainly welcome, and it would not have been much fun for sun-sensitive me to stand out on an open prairie around noon with the sun beating down on me.

I’m glad to be back home this afternoon.  I’m a little tired from the morning excursion, and feel that I may have to wait until this evening to get back to work in the studio.  I have several pieces I would love to finish, but feel some fatigue setting in right now.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal because I am alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Watercoloring en Plein Air with Friends out on the Prairie”

  1. Anita C. Miller Says:

    They are both very beautiful. I especially love the first one… something about the composition that is very striking. The textures and colors are fantastic on both. I, too, love those water soluble graphite pencils.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you so much for looking, and commenting. I’ve been pretty happy with what happened today. I’m excited about pursuing these subjects more in plein air watercolor. They’re not as intimidating to me as they were before.

      Like

  2. Xraypics Says:

    Beautifully spontaneous. Tiny vignettes that make a point often lost in larger more “considered” works. Tony

    Like

Leave a Reply

