Laying the Painting Aside to “Compost” Awhile

Closing in on the Finish of this Experiment

Closing in on the Finish of this Experiment

It’s been tedious but enjoyable.  I purchased a mechanical drafting pencil so as to keep a sharp point, and carefully, joyfully, drew in every thread of screen mesh over the white areas of the coffee can and surroundings.  Then I dragged an eraser over much of it take away the uniformity.  I continue to rough up the white painted slats to make them grimy in appearance.  I feel that I am getting close to finishing this one out.  I’m going to set it aside and “compost” awhile, deciding what, if anything, needs to be done further.  Perhaps the Cave will be more conducive for painting later in the day.  The 40-degree morning has chilled me to the bone out here.  I think I’m ready to go back into the house and pursue some serious reading.

I’m excited to have a holiday off from school.  I have been aching to read and have so little quality time for it.  The time has arrived.  So many books laying open all over my study desk!

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal because I am alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

2 Responses to “Laying the Painting Aside to “Compost” Awhile”

  1. Xraypics Says:

    By Jove! You’ve got it! – Thanks for using high resolution – makes it possible to zoom in closely. The depth effect you’ve achieved is excellent. I’d not realised how irregular the mesh is – wires pulled apart and crammed together with usage.. You must have spent hours setting it down. There’s a kind of Zen in concentrating on that repetitive work which is therapeutic. Tony

    Like

  2. davidtripp Says:

    Thank you, Tony! Yeah, I would call the experience comparable to Zen. I did not think I would be able to focus, but I actually did enjoy the tight work of masking and later re-drawing with mechanical pencil. I took my time and never felt rushed. It’s great working on stuff at my own pace, not having a deadline or anyone “waiting” on it. Thanks for all the encouragement. I really got a kick out of working on this one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

