An All-Day Plein Air Paint-Out in Glen Rose, Texas

Barnard Mill, 1860

Barnard Mill, 1860

I apologize in advance for not posting an articulate blog.  I’m still weak from my recent illness and I completed an eight-hour paint-out in a day that reached 91 degrees in Glen Rose, Texas.  I did manage to kick out three watercolors in that span.  That’s not very fast by my standards, but I’m a bit rusty, still a bit tired, and really was in no hurry.  This is the old Barnard Mill.  I was blessed to receive Honorable Mention for this piece, which took me just under two hours to complete.  I am very attached to this structure and cannot wait for my next opportunity to return to Glen Rose and do another study of it.  I really believe I will one day do a large full-size watercolor of this magnificent old structure.

Heritage Park

Heritage Park

I next drove to Heritage Park and looked over all the historical structures that had been moved there.  But it was high noon, and the light wasn’t that great.  The heat was starting to wear me down as well.  After breaking for a quick lunch I set to work on this stone structure, but couldn’t really get what I wanted on the paper, though I enjoyed scrutinizing every detail of this building.  No matter how I worked, I just didn’t seem to be solving this one as well as I had the mill earlier in the morning.

Barnard Mill Door

Barnard Mill Door

After a second refresher break (I must have downed about eight bottles of water today!), I returned to the Barnard Mill with about 90 minutes left until the cut-off time.  I decided to give a shot at one of the doors below the composition that I painted first thing this morning.  I thought it would be somewhat easy, since I’ve painted quite a few abused door in my garage over this past winter.  It wasn’t.  I found myself fighting this one as well.  Again, I chalked it up to heat and fatigue.  When it was done, I was glad to know that I had eked out three paintings in a day.  And then a bonus–this one got purchased!  So I was glad to come home with some money in my pocket in addition to the Honorable Mention ribbon.

Glen Rose is a little over sixy miles from where I live.  The drive down this morning (I rose at 6:00) was very scenic and serene, and by the time I arrived, I was ready to paint.  But by day’s end, I was dried up, had to wait an hour for the judging to run its course, and then the reception and art sale was scheduled for another hour.  So I got home a little after 7:00 this evening, made dinner, and now, with one eye open, am pushing out this blog.

I think I hear my bed calling out to me.  I don’t know when I’ve been more ready to crash for the night.

Thanks always for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal because I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , , ,

14 Responses to “An All-Day Plein Air Paint-Out in Glen Rose, Texas”

  1. lifeofawillow Says:

    So lovely.

    Like

  2. yiyime Says:

    beautiful art work

    Like

  3. Deanna Tennent Masterson Says:

    i’m so glad i found your blog…..your windows & doors evoke so much feeling.

    Like

  4. Shelley Says:

    Congratulations on the Honorable Mention and the sale! I wonder if the depiction resonated with your buyer primarily because it was Proustian, or because it was symbolic in the way that old doors have of symbolizing life’s entrances and exits, choices made, and choices ruled out. Or maybe he/she just recognized good art. ; )

    Like

  5. redharparts Says:

    Sounds like a good, if exhausting, day. I do like them all but especially the first painting shown. Hope you continue to recover and glad that tornado missed you the other day!

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you. Glad to have avoided that storm. The painting is going well, but I don’t have the energy back yet that I took for granted before getting sick.

      Like

  6. Rachel Says:

    I love the door. I would have bought that too!

    Like

  7. djdfr Says:

    Well done. I am going out tomorrow to a plein air painting contest. i hope the weather will be better than today which was cold and rainy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

