Coming Off an All-Day Plein Air Marathon

The Lone Sentry

The Lone Sentry

If I weren’t so exhausted and sleepy, I would crank out three blog posts with illustrative quotes from my reading.  But my eyes are barely open.  So I’m going to post all three of today’s paintings on this one post.  I arose at 5:30  this morning, went to school to lay out the assignments from my substitute teacher, and then drove forty minutes south to Waxahachie.  No sooner than I began on this Ellis County courthouse, it began to rain on me.  I packed up my gear and moved beneath an awning.  When the rain subsided, the gale winds took over, and I had to keep one hand on this easel the entire time, as it was trying to blow away, conterting my watercolor into a kite.  Once I finished it, I noticed with delight that Zulas Coffee House had relocated in the Texas Theater on the Waxahachie square.  After going intside and enjoying an iced latte, I moved across the street, this time inside an alcove of the courthouse, as the rains began again.

Two, Please

Two, Please

This painting seemed to take forever, as the details seemed never-ending.  And I certainly felt the fatigue beginning to set in.  I had intended to do a third painting before the 6:00 “Quick Draw” competition, but registration began at 5:30, and as the time was already 4:00, I was certain that I could not comfortably finish a third painting and get to the competition on time.  So I chilled awhile, did a little reading, took a walk, then headed for College Street to begin the Quick Draw.  In this competition, we are given ninety minutes to complete a painting, then put it on auction.  I did manage to complete my watercolor sketch of the College Street Pub, but virtually no one showed up for the auction (I believe only one artist sold her painting), so we packed our gear, enjoyed a late dinner together (about twenty of us in the Pub gardens), and then I headed for the house.  Here is the Quick Draw piece I completed:

The Quiet of the Night

The Quiet of the Night

Thanks for reading.  I need to get some quality sleep, as tomorrow I have school, followed by another round in Waxahachie.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal because I feel that I am alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , , ,

9 Responses to “Coming Off an All-Day Plein Air Marathon”

  1. Deanna Tennent Masterson Says:

    The Texas theatre is such a lovely art deco building….great colors & a wonderful painting! You do so well even when you’re exhausted…hope you get a good rest.

    Like

  2. Reid Rogers Says:

    The pressure a deadline puts on your painting reminds me of trying to speed up a passage on the guitar while retaining its inherent musicality. I like The Quiet of the Night; reminds me of much of my youth spent on mainstreet of Drumwright, OK.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Wow, thanks for adding that, Reid. I’m glad to know when someone else connects to those small town memoriies that I try to record in watercolor. And yes, I feel unnatural when rushing to fit into a time frame. I’m not as fast as I was last year.

      Like

  3. Xraypics Says:

    A good series of paintings and the mood of the day beautifully captured. It looks like the kind of town I’d like to visit. Funny about rain, I was painting on a holiday in Jerusalem when a shower suddenly came over, it splattered on my painting before I could cover it and when it dried the sky wash was suddenly full of puffy little clouds – serendipity. Tony

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Wow, the only serendipity I recall from watercoloring was finishing an old yellow International Truck (on my website: Tell Me Where the Road Is) and when I laid it in the grass to dry, the wind gusted and covered it in dust, sand, debris, leaf fragments, that stuck to the wash beneath the truck. I thought the stuff belonged there, so I left it alone to dry and stick.

      Like

Leave a Reply

