Honorable Mention and Three Sales Tonight

Time For a Cold One

Time For a Cold One

What is the modern concept of pure art?  It is the creation of a suggestive magic, containing at the same time the object and the subject, the world outside the artist and the artist himself.

Baudelaire

I am just now coming off a full week of painting scenes and subjects that resonate with my personal feelings, hoping that the paintings might evoke something from the hearts of viewers as well.  After tonight, I am optimistic.  Things appear to be off to an excellent start.

I was fortunate to pull out an Honorable Mention in tonight’s competition.  As always, more than forty artists filled up the auditorium with quality work, and I’m glad I didn’t have to judge it.  There were many, many exceptional pieces under the spotlight tonight.  “Time for a Cold One”, “The Lone Sentry”, and “Overcast Courthouse” now have homes.  The sale opens officially tomorrow morning, and I’m pleased to have already three pieces going out the door prior to the opening, something that never happened to me before.

I will spend the entire Saturday and Sunday in Waxahachie, painting historic homes on the Gingerbread Trail.  Thousands of tourists turn out for this annual event, and some of us plein air painters intend to get out there in the public eye in order to direct some of that traffic back to Getzendaner Park and the Chatauqua Auditorium to see all the work on display and ready to sell.  I hope the weather holds up.  I’m ready to put in a couple more days of painting before this comes to a close.  It’s been a tremendous week, and I’m very grateful for every success, and thankful to all you well-wishers who posted.

Thanks so much for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal because I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , ,

10 Responses to “Honorable Mention and Three Sales Tonight”

  1. Angeline M Says:

    Congratulations on the Honorable Mentions, and the sales.

    Like

  2. Mervin Says:

    Sounds like you are “in the zone” …….keep up the good work David!

    Like

  3. coreyaber Says:

    Congratulations on the honorable mention and the sales. I liked this set of paintings, particularly the train tracks and the lone sentry. In the latter I enjoyed the sky(having been recently focusing on a stormy sky myself) and two small bits of color you added–the stroke of blue next to the tower, and the green and yellow on the point of the roof. These little accents added some extra interest on a cloudy day, and reminded me of John Singer Sargent. Nicely done!

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      I am so honored to read that, thank you, Corey. I appreciate so much the details you pick out and comment on, and wow, putting me in the company of Sargent is overwhelming. Many, many thanks, dear friend.

      Like

  4. djdfr Says:

    Well done.

    Like

  5. redharparts Says:

    Wonderful painting. And congratulations on the sales and the HM.

    Like

Leave a Reply

