My First Hamburger Stand Painting

Oma's Jiffy Burger, Waxahachie, Texas

Oma’s Jiffy Burger, Waxahachie, Texas

What do you think an artist is?  An imbecile who has only eyes if he is a painter, ears if he is a musician, a lyre in every chamber of his heart if he is a poet, or even, if he is a boxer, only a few muscles?  Quite the contrary, he is at the same time a political being constantly alert to the horrifying, passionate, or pleasing events in the world, shaping himself completely in their image.

Pablo Picasso

In the early 1990’s, when I determined that I wanted to master watercolor, I knew then that I wanted to paint scenes and objects that resonate with my past.  I named my company Recollections 54, because it is my birth year, and because I am fascinated with the relics of the 1950’s that stay with us.  OK, granted this hamburger stand was established in 1970, it still looks like a “fifties” joint to me.  As Picasso vehemently stated it, an artist is affected by the events in the world, and finds himself/herself shaped in their image.  For the past few years, I have wanted to paint an old hamburger stand or a roadside fruit stand, whichever one presented itself to me first.  I saw this establishment in Waxahachie, but noticed that other painters had already painted it, and I did not want top compete with them with regard to subjects when the judging happened.  So I left this one alone.  But today, I noticed buyers snatching up the hamburger stand paintings, and decided I could go ahead and paint it now, no longer trying to elbow another artist out of the way.

The sun got hot this afternoon, and the past rains turned the atmosphere to a sticky level of humidity that I could have done without.  Nevertheless I did not rush this painting (it is only 8 x 10″) and am glad I saw it through.  However, by the time I finished it, I no longer had the desire to push for a second painting in the same day.  So this is today’s contribution.  I have priced it at $150 in the 11 x 14″ mat, and it is now in the Chatauqua Auditorium with my other paintings up for sale.

Painting in progress on my easel

Painting in progress on my easel

When I returned to the Chatauqua Auditorium with my new painting, I was delighted to find another one had found a new home.  The one with the misspelled “antiques” sign has been purchased:

Waxahachie Silence

Waxahachie Silence

It’s been another good day in Waxahachie.  Tomorrow the show closes at 4:00 p.m.  My plan is to go down there and complete at least one more painting before calling it a week.

Thamks for reading, and thanks so much for all your encouragement this week.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal because I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “My First Hamburger Stand Painting”

  1. BJR Says:

    OMA’s Jiffy Burgers…wow!!

    Like

  2. Priscilla Hogan (@LittlePrisca) Says:

    Love the Jiffy Burger painting! Neither rain nor sweat, nor heat of day stops you. 🙂

    Like

  3. Beverly Graham Says:

    Well, of all things! I lived in Waxahachie, starting Fall 1969, and was there off and on through the late 90s (not living there all that time, but visiting). You’d think I would know about Oma’s, especially as I had an aunt with that name, and I love eating out. Anyway, I enjoyed the nostalgia of seeing this place I had never met. There are a lot of charming things in Waxahachie, including Getzendaner Park, the Chautauqua, the Ellis County Courthouse, the Gingerbread houses, and much more.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you, Beverly, for visiting my blog. Though I’ve never lived in Waxahachie, I’m happy to be only forty minutes away, and so grateful for the many memories of painting and sketching that enchanting town.

      Like

Leave a Reply

