Finished My Third Windmill Watercolor Sketch

Windmill Watercolor Sketch Number 3

Windmill Watercolor Sketch Number 3

The wisdom and the mistakes of the past are ours to build on, and the picture painted yesterday, now hanging on the wall, is alreadyof the past and is a part of our heritage.

Robert Henri, The Art Spirit

I relaxed behind a fly rod yesterday evening, enjoying the scintillating breezes of an unseasonably cool evening.  This morning, my first waking thought was the watercolor brush.  I’m still experimenting with a commission I’ve offered of a windmill.  The image sent me is a Google image.  I’m doing the best I can from the photo.  I have been tipped off of where I could travel to paint windmills on sight, but it’s a pretty good drive from where I am and there are other things I’m involved in.  So, meanwhile, I keep trying to solve the problems of a dynamic watercolor sky stretched out over a neutral subject.  I’m enjoying very much the drybrush experiments I’ve been putting in the brush.  The photo submitted is just a silhouette of prairie grasses, but I don’t want to paint a silhouette.  And I’m always fascinated with the challenge of drybrushing terrain.  The dynamics of the sky are still proving to be my biggest challenge.  I’m finished with this third sketch, but certainly not finished with my subject.  And, in the spirit of Robert Henri, I’ve spent considerable time this past week looking at my prior attempts of the windmill beside my current one, constrasting, evaluating, recording in the journal, all the time trying to find the grail.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal because I feel that I am alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Finished My Third Windmill Watercolor Sketch”

  1. lifeofawillow Says:

    Lovely!

    Like

Leave a Reply

