First Day of Summer Vacation. Time for Fly Fishing

Landed Bass at an Undisclosed Location

Landed Bass at an Undisclosed Location

Eugene Delacroix and Henri Matisse spoke of travel as a means for “cleansing the eye.”  I spent the first day of my summer vacation traveling, antiquing (acquired a fabulous relic for a new watercolor composition), and fly fishing on the private property of a gracious host.  By the time I got on location, there was only about thirty minutes of light remaining.  It was enough to land a pair of largemouth black bass, and this second one (pictured) turned out to be quite a battle for my five-weight fly rod.  He tried to get into the brush several times, and actually broke my 5x tippet right at the edge of the pond, but fortunately his head was far enough out of the water that I could retrieve him before he withdrew.  I kept him only long enough to photograph, then returned him to his safe environment.  It was a delicious first day out of school, and a delicious evening fly fishing. True gifts for my wearied soul.

Thanks for reading.

Tags:

2 Responses to “First Day of Summer Vacation. Time for Fly Fishing”

  1. Duncan Says:

    Fly-fishing is one of those true joys in life. It’s been a few years since I’ve let the hobby fade into memory but I miss it dearly. I hope that as my little ones get older, we (my family and I) can take it up as a way to stay connected. I’m glad you had an opportunity to enjoy. Great fish!

    Like

Leave a Reply

