Day One of the Star Harbor Watercolor Workshop

Star Harbor Watercolor Workshop painting Still Life

Star Harbor Watercolor Workshop painting Still Life

I think the real artists are too busy with just being and growing and acting (on canvas or however) like themselves to worry about the end.  The end will be what it will be.  The object is intense living, fulfillment; the great happiness in creation.  People sometimes  phrase about the joy of work.  It is only in creative work that joy may be found.

Robert Henri, The Art Spirit

Rising at 6:00 this morning, I was wide awake immediately, feeling an appointment with destiny.  The Star Harbor Watercolor Society hosted me a little over a year ago for a two-day workshop, and I never forgot the camaraderie I instantly knew among that circle of artists.  Last year we focused on plein air painting.  This year we decided to pursue still life composition and painting with a Proustian feel for the memories incited by the antique objects we examined.  I opened this morning with a demonstration–a quick watercolor sketch of an antique door knob (posted below).  We then busied ourselves, arranging a host of objects I brought down to Star Harbor in my Jeep this morning, and sharing our own stories about the ideas we found in them.

Demonstration Watercolor Sketch of Antique Doorknob

Demonstration Watercolor Sketch of Antique Doorknob

Today was a good day spent with those who find joy in the act of watercoloring.  Each participant worked diligently on the still life drawing before turning to the watercolors to render the compositions.  I was delighted to see strong drawings emerge, as I always believe that the real strength of a watercolor is in the drawing.  I almost never see a good drawing yield to a bad watercolor.  Not only did I enjoy watching the drawings emerge; I was gratified to note that these artists enjoyed the process and didn’t seem hung up on the end results of their paintings.  I can hardly wait to return for day two tomorrow.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal because I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

