The Daily Endeavor

Second Day on the Vintage Coca-Cola Sign

Second Day on the Vintage Coca-Cola Sign

Have no mean hours, but be grateful for every hour, and accept what it brings.  The reality will make any sincere record respectable.  No day will have been wholly misspent, if one sincere, thoughtful page has been written.

Henry David Thoreau, Journal, July 6, 1840

I would stand and look out over the roofs of Paris and think, “Do not worry.  You have always written before and you will write now.  All you have to do is write one true sentence.  Write the truest sentence that you know.”

Ernest Hemingway, A Moveable Feast

I keep returning to these words from Thoreau and Hemingway, wanting to sustain the energy for daily thought and visual art as they did for thought and the written word.  They believed in their ideas, their abilities, their daily craft.  And they pursued these with unflagging purpose.

I painted yesterday, though tired.  I painted again this evening, though tired.  I’m still recovering from the extensive travel and workshop activity, and jumping into the daily summer school fire (English IV) as I write this.  But weary as I feel tonight, I am delighted that I said Yes to painting these last two times.  And I’m very pleased with how this small 10 x 8″ watercolor sketch is progressing of my vintage Coca-Cola sign.  I’m chipping away at this sign, remembering those countless times as  a child that I saw signs such as this mounted on fence posts, general stores and billboards in southeast Missouri.  This sign is as genuine a relic of Americana as anything I have witnessed in these past decades.  I’m proud to own it, and so pleased to have this opportunity to sketch it, paint it, plot out future compositions with it.

I’ve added quite a bit since yesterday, mostly the distressed marks, rust and buckshot damage on the background of the sign, as well as the shadows running around the curved side.  I also extended the background on the left side, darkening some of the evergreen.  I have some masqued highlights in the evergreen that I’m anxious to remove, but I have soaked the composition, and it’s going to take awhile for it to dry sufficiently for me to remove the masquing.  I believe I’ll finish this one tomorrow after school, and put if up for sale, 10 x 8″ with a 14″ x 11″ white mat and plastic sleeve.  Asking price: $100.

Thanks for reading.  Talk to you tomorrow!

I paint in order to remember.

I journal because I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “The Daily Endeavor”

  1. Xraypics Says:

    Do you find you sometimes produce better work when you are tired? It happens to me that insight seems to arrive late at night when i should have been abed many hours before. Tony

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Tony, we’re on the same page. When I should be sleeping, ideas do appear, unsolicited. And sometimes they are so jolting that I feel I have to strike while the iron is hot. It does cost me quality rest, and I should be more careful about that. With summer school in progress, I’m back to that 6 a.m. alarm.

      Like

      • Xraypics Says:

        Hmmm… by coincidence I was half awake most of last night with “unsolicited ideas” leaping around in my head for an animation segment for the “Light on the Fringe” festival I’m involved in. If what I thought about transpires it will take a lot of hard drawing. Meanwhile I left my notebook in the office at work. Blast! Tony

        Like

      • davidtripp Says:

        I know how that is. I’m teaching summer school, and I had an idea for a new composition recently, then realized I had brought nothing into the classroom–no sketchbook, no watercolor block, not even a drawing pencil. I should know better by now.

        Like

  2. Playamart - Zeebra Designs Says:

    That fatigue is not fun, and I understand totally. This past year it’s been more difficult for me to bounce back; after the pulmonary infection, I was weak and anemic, and I think my body was reminding me to slow down.
    You’ve been really busy as well, and you lost that beautiful cat/companion, and you’ve been ill… and your body is trying to slow you down for some r&m, don’t you agree?

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      You couldn’t be more correct. I do have a habit of overdoing it. It’s as though I never learn. School will (hopefully) slow me down, rein me in a bit. I have a morning anchor now with this class. Perhaps I can find a way to rest in the afternoons. I do need to slow things down.

      Like

  3. lifeofawillow Says:

    I like the richness of character, history and literature that your art is infused with. Wonderful as always.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      You are so gracious, thank you. I can never put into words what I feel when I view these subjects, and of course, can never render them the way I see them in my mind’s eye, in my heart. But I love the effort, the process. And I’m usually happy with the result. You’re a poet–you know all about that!

      Like

Leave a Reply

