Donny, You’re Out of Your Element!

Abandoned Gas Station, Archer City

Abandoned Gas Station, Archer City

“Donny, you have no frame of reference!”

Walter, on The Big Lebowski

From the moment I laid eyes on this door of an abandoned service station in Archer City, Texas, I knew I was going to give it a try as a watercolor sketch.  I fell in love with the remains of the Viceroy cigarette poster and schedule of hours still clinging to the filthy window.  I’m amazed that the door still has its knob, lock, and even hook latch still intact. It was over 100 degrees when I took a series of photographs of it last weekend, but I have looked at these photos every day since then, and this evening decided to give it a try.  This is one of my rare occasions where, from the start, I really have no clue as to what I am doing.  I am indeed lost and giddy, staring at the residue of the cigarette poster, and have spent most of this evening trying to capture it on paper.  The abused wood of the door I’m not as afraid of, and will start to refine later.  But for now, I’m going to see if I can nail this sign and all the smoggy reflections and dust on the grimy window.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal because I feel that I am alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am  not alone.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Donny, You’re Out of Your Element!”

  1. lifeofawillow Says:

    I love the plethora of life that you attempt to conquer with your art…

    Like

  2. Deanna Tennent Masterson Says:

    Thanks for your humor…love the quote…& it made me laugh! pretty much sums up how i’m feeling with my current painting. I look forward to seeing how this wonderful Archer City door develops.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Glad you enjoyed it. I go through life almost daily with “Big Lebowski” lines in my head! I love that film. Thanks for your confidence in me. I’m interested in seeing whether or not I can pull this one out. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

