A Scorching Day in Archer City, Texas

Service Station Relic in Archer City, Texas

Service Station Relic in Archer City, Texas

As a Texas watercolorist, I can hardly convey my delight in this small Texas town where Larry McMurtry’s Last Picture Show was filmed.  This abandoned service station languishes around the corner, about two blocks from that historic cinematic location.  To complete this composition, I had to go to my archives to find a vintage automobile I photographed in New Mexico years ago.  Now, I feel that I’ve managed to create a visual time warp for those of who like to remember earlier days, cruising small towns and looking for something, anything interesting to do.  If I grow quiet enough, I can almost hear the sound of a bell cable, as the car drives over it, signaling the service station attendant inside to put down the shop towel and come out anto fuel the automobile.

It’s been a few weeks since I visited Archer City when temperatures soared five degrees above the century mark.  How amusing that I return to my photos to paint this composition on a day when Arlington, Texas breaks a record low temperature set in 1900.  The record from that day was 79 degrees; it is now 72.  I don’t usual file weather reports on my blog, but this is unusual, and it feels good.

I started this composition Saturday while sitting in my booth at a craft festival, then returned to it this evening after summer school to wrap it up.  It is a quick sketch, but I’m very pleased with it.  It measures 10 x 8″ and I’m offering it for $100 with a 14 x 11″ white mat.

Thanks for reading.

Tags:

4 Responses to “A Scorching Day in Archer City, Texas”

  1. lifeofawillow Says:

    This is lovely.

    Like

  2. reid rogers Says:

    This is a great piece, David. I’m beginning to get really jealous of your art; it takes you places while mine keeps me tethered to a guitar amplifier in a studio. In the interest of artistic integrity I think you should drive out to NM, find that old car, haul it to Archer City, park in front of gas station, and then paint that picture!

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Well Reid, I’m jealous of your guitar prowess. I’m gearing up for an approaching gig, and I’m a mess. I don’t have my 10,000 hours in, and should just say No to these type of engagements. They should be left to those with the skills and “touch.” But thanks so much for your encouragement. Someday, let’s talk about these gigging anxieties.

      Like

Leave a Reply

