Turning my Attention to the Gate in the Watercolor

4th day on the Coca-Cola Still Life

4th day on the Coca-Cola Still Life

To be interested solely in technique would be a very superficial thing to me.  If I have an emotion, before I die, that’s deeper than any emotion that I’ve ever had, then I will paint a more powerful picture that will have nothing to do with just technique, but will go beyond it.

Andrew Wyeth

Unfortunately, this day chewed a big chunk out of me, time-wise.  Summer school needed more attention than usual, my washing machine broke down and I had to wait for a repairman, and there was much end-of-the-month household maintenance to address.  All told, I did not even get to touch this watercolor until 5:00 this evening, when there was very little left of me.

Nevertheless, I have been eager for days to address the details on the metal gate that supports my Coca-Cola sign,  I was delighted to acquire this last month, have gazed upon it daily (the only thing it’s missing from my childhood is honeysuckle poking through the wires), remembering childhood days at grandparents’ farms.  These gates used to be everywhere.  Now they show up in antique stores and resale shops.

 

Close-Up Study of the Gate

Close-Up Study of the Gate

In a sentiment matching the statement posted above by Andrew Wyeth, I gladly worked on the gate late this afternoon, giving little thought to technique, and just reaching for anything that could help me achieve my objective.  I found pleasure, working with graphite, watercolor, my fingertips, Q-tips, and colored pencils.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal because I feel that I am alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags:

4 Responses to “Turning my Attention to the Gate in the Watercolor”

  1. Deanna Tennent Masterson Says:

    I love that you are documenting the past with such feeling…. & it’s fascinating seeing the rustic texture of the gate come alive. Thanks so much for sharing as you paint, David.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      I appreciate so much your comments, thank you. I am never sure how to convey my feelings in writing. I do feel something primal when I paint objects from my childhood memories. Walking through antique stores, I am lost in wonder with the memories that cluster all over those discarded objects. Thank you for following my work.

      Like

  2. Hal Aber Says:

    I have missed you and know you through Corey Aber.”s blog. Glad you are back,,!?

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Oh, thank you. I am so far behind in correspondence, and haven’t responded to Corey in aeons. I have loved his work, and need to get back to looking at it and reading his meditations. Thank you again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

