Mornings that Begin with Watercolor are Better than Those that Do Not

The Pulse of the Morning

The Pulse of the Morning

The horizon leans forward,

Offering you space

To place new steps of change

Here, on the pulse of this fine day . . . 

Maya Angelou, “On the Pulse of Morning” (Inaugural Poem delivered 20 January 1993)

I did not find it arduous to rise this morning before daylight, shower, and enter the studio.  The prospect of bending over this watercolor before driving off to school was an inviting one, and I found the morning silence velvety and sweet.  I could still hear those words of Maya Angelou that arrested me on that historic morning over twenty years ago, and was grateful for the memory.  Her poem is part of the mantra that aids me in “believing” when I begin each new school year.

I’m beginning this watercolor on the light side, laying down colors that I hope will reflect that scalding hot day in Fort Worth when I took the photo of the Sinclair station.  Later, I’ll try to put in the dark cool shades of the trees and building, hoping to build a good, vibrant contrast.  The only thing I had time to do this morning was work on the gas pump details, block in the hot, sunny background, and begin the red lamp post.  Suddenly it was time to head for the campus.  Today is the last day to get my classroom ready for Monday’s arrival of students.

I’m glad to be “out in front” of my class content, so I can spend the next few days getting my heart ready for this next chapter.  I’ve tried lately to spend more time in the evenings reading, reflecting, scribbling in my journal, and of course working on the watercolors that are still scattered, unfinished, across my studio.  The balancing act begins next week, and I’m determined this year not to fail in my full-time job as an educator, nor to neglect my painting.  Hopefully, the two areas will feed off of each other as they have in good days of time past.

Painting in the Morning Before Reporting to School

Painting in the Morning Before Reporting to School

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal because I feel that I am alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Mornings that Begin with Watercolor are Better than Those that Do Not”

  1. Bonnie Says:

    I was ready to ask…”Are you ok?” Sorry that real life caused problems!…it’s always so nice to have things all fixed up again! 😉 Looks like you have a good start on your painting…I wish you well! I’m trying to keep on, too…even though it takes all I have at the moment. But it leaves a good feeling behind…which I treasure.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      I sure hope you are mustering all the strength necessary to create as you do. Sorry for the obstructions. Thank you for checking on me. It’s a great feeling to be back at it again.

      Like

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    Beautifully written, David.

    Like

Leave a Reply

