A Little Bit of Watercolor Activity Before the Start of School

Day Before School Begins, Still Working on the Painting

Day Before School Begins, Still Working on the Painting

When you see the spark of ambition, water it.

Michael Molloy, Experiencing the World’s Religions

Fall term begins tomorrow at James Martin High School, Arlington, Texas, my professional home for twenty-five years now.  My A. P. and Regular Art History classes are ready now, and I did manage to get in some quality watercolor time this afternoon.   Today I found myself drawing, erasing and re-drawing quite a number of details related to the gas pumps, signage and posts as well as the concrete island that anchors them.  I really enjoy drawing and revising in the midst of watercolor, and I’m finding more and more ways to use graphite and colored pencil along with my brushes and Winsor & Newton pigments.  Today was no exception.  Finally, I managed to paint the red gas pump to the left, and finished the green one on the right.  I’m ready now to begin work on the truck, and am still unsure as to how to get its color right.  It is a pale sea green, quite unlike the Sinclair green that already has given me plenty of fits!  I’ll take my time on that.  I notice now that I have quite a bit of drawing left on the truck details as well, and plenty of decisions to make as to the rendering of the reflections on its windows.  I indeed wish I could put off school one more day.  I’m not sure if I’ll be able to paint tomorrow.  Tuesday (lucky me) I’ll begin teaching yet another subject never taught before (they sprung that on me last year too–fun).  It’s possible that I’ll still be making decisions tomorrow afternoon concerning the Tuesday load.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags:

8 Responses to “A Little Bit of Watercolor Activity Before the Start of School”

  1. Debbie Says:

    Great teachers can teach anything! Best wishes for a wonderful school year!

    Like

  2. Playamart - Zeebra Designs Says:

    The painting is going well! It’s a joy to watch the evolution of your paintings!

    enjoy your new students! z

    Like

  3. Trapper Gale Says:

    I’m enjoying the progression in your watercolors and wish you well for the next school year. Great teachers are invaluable.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you. I enjoy watching a watercolor “unfold” as I poke at it. And thanks so much for the vote of confidence as a teacher. So far, this day has been excellent.

      Like

  4. Bonnie Says:

    Love watching your progress! And best wishes on your new subject. I’m sure you’ll do well…

    Like

Leave a Reply

