Watercoloring on a Cool Autumn Saturday Morning

Second Attempt of Beavers Bend watercolor

Second Attempt of Beavers Bend watercolor

Those of you who have never painted a landscape probably don’t know how hard it is to hold together a green landscape; green is a really difficult color to give space to and to structure a landscape.  And therefore, if you paint a landscape that is predominantly green, you are risking failure.

Richard Brettell, “Cezanne and Pissarro in Pontoise” lecture

I knew I was asking for trouble, noticing that my photograph taken at Beavers Bend is predominantly green.  But still, I loved the composition, accompanied by the memories of that enchanting afternoon and evening standing in the Lower Mountain Fork River.  It remains one of my fondest of fly fishing memories.

Reference photo for the painting

Reference photo for the painting

My greatest challenge will be the task of separating the large, dark green mass of trees making up nearly 50 percent of the composition, weighted heavily on the right.  I still haven’t made up my mind exactly what I’m going to do, but I am absorbed with this composition, and am enjoying the delight of exploring every square inch of this picture plane.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself I am not alone.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Watercoloring on a Cool Autumn Saturday Morning”

  1. jimpriest 2000 Says:

    Beautiful!

    Like

  2. coreyaber Says:

    This is looking incredible. I like how you’ve handled the green space so far, and the rock face has a lot of interest. Nicely done. This is one I’ll return to later for reference.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thanks so much. Looking at your beehive got me off my duff and back into the studio. I’m glad I got some time in this afternoon, because the upcoming week promises to be brutal. I still have some decisions to make on the green mass of trees covering the side of this mountain. I have a good idea of what needs to be done. Thanks again.

      Like

  3. Materials: Watercolor | the peachypatchy blog Says:

    […] artists on WordPress: Adorable rabbit by ElenaCaravela, a gorgeous landscape by DavidTripp, a cool humpback whale by TimJump, a lovely house by […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

