Picking Up the Brush Again

Tire Shop in Edom, Texas

Tire Shop in Edom, Texas

You are anxious and troubled about many things; few things are needful, or only one.

Luke 10:41-42

As the weekend draws to a close, I reflect with gratitude on the Jenny Wood Art Festival that just concluded in Bullard, Texas.  The festival organizers facilitated a fine show, the art work I saw across the gymnasium was first-rate, and the camaraderie amongst the artists left me with nothing but warm feelings.  I’m also warmed by great conversations I enjoyed with long-time friends from Athens, Texas who were gracious enough to provide me with a place to stay while I was two hours away from my own home.

In three weeks, I will be the featured artist for The Shed Cafe in Edom, Texas, as the businesses in the community hold their Art Jam.  I have been invited to display and sell my work out of their boutique during cafe hours on that Saturday, November 30.  Between now and then, I hope to create a few local watercolors of the establishments in Edom.  Above is the tire shop that is across the intersection from The Shed.  I was able to begin work on this during the festival on Saturday.  My booth provided me with enough space to work as well as sell my art.  I photographed this tire shop while I was participating in the Edom Festival of the Arts about three weeks ago.  The sun was bright on that day, and I managed to find a good contrast of light and shadow amidst this strucxture.

Between now and November 30, I will have some free weekends and hopefully enough time to work in my studio.  I have missed it so.  The school load over the next two weeks still promises to be more-than-pleasant, but I at least will not have to fight my way through weekend festivals during this interim.  And perhaps I will find some evening hours to resume my art passion.

The words of Jesus posted above have haunted me over this past week.  I have tried to find a way to focus on a single goal.  I do not like a life of clutter, a calendar loaded to the margins, or a parade of deadlines.  My profession currently has me jammed far beyond what I like or enjoy.  And my weekly/weekend schedule too often has squeezed off the channels of creative energy, replacing them with dank cisterns filled with insipid tasks.  I’m trying once again to find my way back to the creative flow, the current of energy and creativity.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

 

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Picking Up the Brush Again”

  1. pikink Says:

    nice drawing!! like it!!

    Like

  2. Xraypics Says:

    Thankyou for that quote, it is very timely… Tony

    Like

  3. Barbara Says:

    I hope you do achieve that quality creative time; I know exactly how important and powerful those times can be! Your quote today is from one of my favorite stories. By nature, I am a Martha, but I yearn to be a Mary, focusing in on what’s truly important but being relaxed about it at them same time.

    PS: My family and I will be in Tyler for Thanksgiving and will be traveling back home on Nov. 30. We will try to stop by The Shed and say hello!

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Barbara, it would be great fun to see all of you if you find the opportuninty to drop in (you probably know the food is the best in the area!). Thank you for considering me in your holiday visit. I wish all of you great fun as you travel together. East Texas is really a treat, isn’t it?

      Like

Leave a Reply

