Carving out a Niche in this World

Edom Tire Shop Finished

Edom Tire Shop Finished

Most people with whom I talk, men and women even of some originality and genius, have their scheme of the universe all cut and dried,–very dry, I assure you, to hear, dry enough to burn, dry-rotted and powder-post, methinks,–which they set up between you and them in the shortest intercourse; an ancient and tottering frame with all its boards blown off.

Henry David Thoreau, A Week on the Concord and Merrimack Rivers

In recent days, I am drawing unspeakable riches from my students in philosophy and art history.  I sense a drive in many of them to articulate a personal philosophy, to design their own thought paradigms, to construct a meaningful worldview.  They share with me what they are reading from thinkers they choose to pursue, they bring to me their discoveries from the school and public libraries, epiphanies they’ve experienced at exhibits in local art museums.  The more I see them constructing their own worlds, the more driven I am to continue building my own.  I love this quote from a recent reading in Thoreau, the dry wit directed at worn-out, second-hand ideologies.

I am so pleased these past couple of days to find a little space, a slight crack in my professional routine, that has allowed some stolen moments for reading, reflection and painting.  Today I finished my first of at least three Edom, Texas subjects–the small tire shop at the main intersection of town near where I will set up on November 30 for an all-day Art Jam.  I finished out the surrounding foliage, darkening the perimeters of the composition, then tried to put in some accents in the pavement at the bottom of the picture plane.  I re-worked the dark shadows under the awning, laid some more rust and corrugated textures on the roof, and finally worked on some geometric shapes on the right side to give some kind of “pop” to the composition overall.  Finally, it was time to sign the darned thing and move on.  Already I have sketched out my next composition and tonight am ready to lay down my first watercolor washes on it.  It will be a second 8 x 10″ composition.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , , , ,

11 Responses to “Carving out a Niche in this World”

  1. Trapper Gale Says:

    I genuinely enjoy your reflections on your students, as well as your own unique and beautiful work.

    Like

  2. said-simply Says:

    David, this painting is rich. It feels like a scene you could drive past in any small, sleepy town. I really appreciate your work (as well as your words in this post).

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      I can’t thank you enough for your response. These kinds of settings take me back to my 1950s childhood. I love revisiting the memories by doing these small watercolor sketches and reliving stories from my own past. I’m so delighted to know that this resonates with you as well.

      Like

      • said-simply Says:

        Sure does David! Your paintings capture the detail of those scenes almost perfectly but with a touch of artistry that is very winsome. I am challenged by viewing the work of other artists and am hungry to grow & improve as a painter/artist. Memories are powerful things aren’t they. They connect with something deep in our core. Keep the good stuff coming!

        Like

      • davidtripp Says:

        I really appreciate that you took time to see my work and comment. Thank you so much for the encouragement.

        Like

      • said-simply Says:

        You’re very welcome!

        Like

  3. raehering Says:

    I love your work, David. So, are you a philosophy and art history teacher? I understand when you say you learn from your students – I teach private music lessons and have learned that learning goes both ways 🙂

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you. Yes, I teach philosophy, art history and English at high school, and religion and philosophy at a local university. Learning indeed goes both ways–I told a student this morning that my education as a teacher far surpasses the education that earned me my degrees.

      Like

  4. djdfr Says:

    I wonder if someday The Revelation of Arès will be on the syllabus. There one definitely finds inspiration for a personal philosophy of life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

