Doing Something that Matters

Completed Edom Painting #2

Completed Edom Painting #2

Seated at my writing desk, looking out at the glittering lights, I strive for a sense of optimism, a feeling that as small as I am, what I am doing still matters in the scheme of things.

Julia Cameron, Finding Water: The Art of Perseverence

I enjoy reading Julia Cameron publications, even though I don’t regard myself as a “blocked” artist.  Sometimes I have trouble finding quality time to pursue my craft, but that is because of long and demanding job hours.  My mind is always on the art I want to make, I just don’t always have the space in my daily grind to go about the task as I would like.

Right now, I am still waiting for the promised ice storms that have been predicted for twenty-four hours now.  I keep hoping school will be canceled due to all the icy streets that still haven’t occurred.  Texas meteoroligists have always thrown darts, and very seldom hit the bull’s eye when forecasting severe winter weather.  I am amazed to think of how much they must be salaried for getting it wrong.  And I wonder why people such as I still listen to them.  Hope, I guess, is what keeps us listening, and believing, expecting, wanting.

Back to Julia Cameron, I like to think about the creative life, and why it matters.  I spend little time wondering if my art will ever have widespread impact.  In fact, I’m not sure I ever went down that path of wondering whether my work would be widely-known.  For about the last five years, all I know is that making art has mattered to me, has given my own existence meaning and a sense of joy.  Days that include making art are always better than days that do not.  And I guess that’s why I find myself wishing tonight that school tomorrow would be canceled–I would much rather give tomorrow to making art than filling up classroom hours with chatter, grades, and goals, knowing that the students are already focused on the vacation at hand (and so are we teachers).  We all need the break from the relentless grind that has worked on us since August.

I am posting the watercolor that I completed a little while ago.  It is the second in a series of three 8 x 10″ sketches I’m doing of the Edom business district.  I’m happy that I was able to “rescue” a watercolor that started off rather badly.  I managed to get some colors to pop with contrast, and to correct some of the goofs I made in the early stages.  This one took some sweat to figure out, but I think I got it looking O.K.  At least, I’m happy enough to sign off on it as a finished piece.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

 

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Doing Something that Matters”

  1. Linda Halcomb Says:

    David, your “saves” were very effective. I particularly like the shadows running across the foreground and the reds that walk my eyes through the painting.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Linda, thank you. I had quite a struggle on my hands with this one. Quite a few times, my watercolors start out badly. Sometimes I can salvage something from them. Thank you for your kind comments on this one. I tried!

      Like

Leave a Reply

