A Bibliography to Share with my New Art Friends

Tomorrow, I hope to post all the excitement I experienced tonight with the Trinity Arts Guild in Bedford, Texas.  Many pictures were taken while I attempted a watercolor demo, and if they are forwarded to me, I’ll gladly post them.  I found the group to be very lively, receptive and eager in their pursuit of the arts.  As we were winding down for the evening, one of them asked if I could share a bibliography. I am all-too-excited to do that, and promised I would put it on tonight’s blog after getting home.

Three monographs have changed my life profoundly over the past three years.  With each of these three, I have felt as though I were seated in the parlor, one-on-one, with the author speaking directly to me.  I am moved profoundly as I read these three books like scripture:

1. Creative Authenticity, Ian Roberts

2. Art & Fear, David Bayles and Ted Orland

3. View from the Studio Door, Ted Orland

4. The Art Spirit, Robert Henri (I have found Robert Henri to be a fiery prophet.  No wonder he stirred up the Ash Can School at 806 Walnut Street in Philadelphia.  This book is a collection of his lecture notes and teaching fragments.  Pure gold.)

5. The Journals of Eugene Delacroix (This French Romantic painter was a a great mind, a tireless pioneer, and an excellent writer of theory.)

6. The Collected Writings of Robert Motherwell.  (This Abstract Expressionist painter served on 27 different university factulties, and truly loved the academic life of letters just as much as making art. I find him a bottomless well of insight.)

7. The Autobiography of William Carlos Williams.  (This physician drove around Rutherford, New Jersey jotting on prescription pads his impressions and ideas throughout the day, which would be shaped into poems late each night.  In his autobiography, he discusses his love for art and how it impacted his life as a poet and a romantic.)

8. A Moveable Feast, Ernest Hemingway. (I love his ideas about the discipline of writing and how Cezanne impacted his theories on composition.)

Andrew Wyeth is one of my all-time heroes of the drybrush technique.  And I love his ideas.  These are my favorite books covering his legacy:

9. Andrew wyeth: A Secret Life, Richard Meryman

10. Andrew Wyeth, Richard Meryman (Houghton Mifflin, 1968)

11. Wyeth at Kuerners

12. The Wyeths Across Texas, Henry Adams

13. Two Worlds of Andrew Wyeth, Thomas Hoving

I also regard Edward Hopper as my patron saint.  I love his mind, his articulation of ideas and his sense of composition, and I most particularly love his watercolors:

14. Edward Hoppper: The Watercolors, Virginia M. Mecklenburg

15. Edward Hopper: An Intimate Biography, Gail Levin (I had the rare privilege of hearing her lecture recently at the Dallas Museum of Art.  Even more fulfilling was the opportunity to chat with her afterward during a book signing).

16. Hopper Drawing, Carter E. Foster

17. American Masters: The Voice and the Myth, Brian O’Doherty (I particularly love the two chapters on Hopper and Wyeth)

18. J. M. W. Turner,  Iran Warrell

19. Watercolors by Winslow Homer: The Color of Light

20. Winslow Homer: Artist and Angler, Patricia Junker with Sarah Burns

21. The Unknown Matisse:  A Life of Henri Matisse: The Early Years, 18y69-1908, Hilary Spurling

22. Matisse the Master: A Life of Henri Matisse: The Conquest of Colour, 1909-1954, Hilary Spurling (I read these two volumes back-to-back and was sorry when they ended.  Amazing research, writing and theories of painting from this articulate master)

I have always loved Andy Warhol’s drive and stamina.  He remained prolific throughout his short life, and his fertile imagination never ceased.

23.  Factory Made: Warhol in the Sixties, Steven Watson

24. Popism: The Warhol Sixties, Andy Warhol and Pat Hackett

25. Pop: The Genius of Andy Warhol, Tony Scherman and David Dalton

Thanks for reading.  I hope you find aces from this list that you can play.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

4 Responses to “A Bibliography to Share with my New Art Friends”

  1. Jane Hannah Says:

    Hello David,

    thank you for this list of readings… I will certainly peruse some. I am surprised that you have not mentioned Thoreau? Anyway, just wanted to thank you for sharing this info with us -)

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Oh, thank YOU for looking and responding. I actually read a great deal of Thoreau, and am currently in his Journals. Most of the ideas he gives me pertain to philosophy however, and I was trying to submit an “art” bibliography to a group of workshop participants.

      Like

  2. coreyaber Says:

    Awesome. Thanks so much for posting this. I will borrow heavily from this for my Christmas list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

