Accepting the Gift of Inclement Weather

Beginning Work on a Gas Station

Beginning Work on a Gas Station

Writing, at its best, is a lonely life.  Organizations for writers palliate the writer’s loneliness but I doubt if they improve his writing.  He grows in public stature as he sheds his loneliness and often his work deteriorates.  For he does his work alone and if he is a good enough writer he must fae eternity, or the lack of it, each day.  For a true writer each book should be a new beginning where he tries again for something that is beyond attainment.

Ernest Hemingway, Nobel Prize acceptance speech

Today’s school closure was a genuine gift for me.  I am up to my neck with three Christmas commissions that I could not give sufficient attention to with my school schedule this semester.  The three-day weekend could not have come at a better time.  The Hemingway statement rings true to me.  Making art is a solitary exercise, as is writing.  I love the fellowship of other creative spirits, but they cannot help me when the task of painting beckons.  And the quiet of the studio throughout this day has been perfect.  I cannot drive anywhere, even if I wished it.  And tomorrow is Saturday–no schoolwork to prepare immediately.  It’s been a great day to get the tasks underway.  I’m posting part of what I’ve accomplished today.  I’ve done quite a bit more, but not sufficient yet for photography.  Three paintings are underway and I’m feeling the satisfaction of accomplishment.

Thanks for reading.  Gotta get back to it!

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

