Lost in Memories of Yesterday

Study of a Service Station Transitioning from Magnolia to Mobilgas

Study of a Service Station Transitioning from Magnolia to Mobilgas

The fancy is indeed no other than a mode of memory emancipated from the order of time and space.

Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Biographia Literaria

Coleridge nailed this one.  I have enjoyed the delicious warm indoors of my studio while looking out on the winter light throughout the day.  This painting is a close study of the transition of a 1950’s gas station from Magnolia to Mobilgas.  I’ve had such fun researching the signage, color schemes, advertising, architecture and vehicles of the era, and the longer I work on this, the more I recall my own childhood (by the way, I call my company Recollections 54 because it is my birth year, and I enjoy painting memories from that era).  My website is http://www.recollections54.com.  I have a Sinclair station on the front page of that site, a site that has been restored, located on McCart Avenue in Fort Worth, Texas.

It looks like I’ll return to school tomorrow after a glorious four-day weekend.  I’m sorry to leave this painting schedule I’ve enjoyed so much.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself I am not alone.

Tags: , ,

8 Responses to “Lost in Memories of Yesterday”

  1. castiblanc Says:

    Beautiful work, so clear and ordered.

    Like

  2. lifeofawillow Says:

    Wonderful!

    Like

  3. drawdoodle Says:

    David, Putzing about here enjoying your words and your art when I looked at the picture in this post and spotted the pencils! Are those watercolor pencils? Colored pencils? And if I may ask, how much of your work is done with these? Pleas advise 🙂
    Eden

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Hi, Eden. Yes, they are watercolor pencils and prismacolor colored pencils. I use them occasionally for tight, detailed work. But I also have really sharp brushes that I also use for detailing. My paintings are about 90% brushwork, the rest a combination of graphite and colored pencils and watercolor pencils. My favorite brand of watercolor pencil is Faber-Castell, the Albrecht Durer version.

      Like

  4. drawdoodle Says:

    Thanks so much for your quick response! I feel much more comfortable using the colored pencils with the tighter details! What I enjoy much more about watercolor is the ability to grab the correct color from my palette instead of changing pencils all the time! I have so much to learn and it’s nice to be able to ask an expert! Thank You

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      I’m on the same page with you. I would rather use watercolor exclusively on these details, but out of laziness(?) I do reach for the pencils. What I get tired of, is the endless sharpening of them. “Expert”? Hardly. I’m just figuring this stuff out on the fly, and seem to be improving by repetition.

      Like

Leave a Reply

