Nature Wears the Colors of our Spirit

Hermann, Missori in the Winter

Hermann, Missori in the Winter

Thus is Art a nature passed through the alembic of man.  Thus in art does Nature work through the will of a man filled with the beauty of her first works.

Ralph Waldo Emerson, Nature

I should paint my own places best.  Painting is but another word for feeling.

John Constable

Yesterday I complained and groused about a 61-degree (later a 65-degree) January 1st in Texas.  Today winter has returned and I am in aesthetic ecstasy.  It is 25 degrees outside at 8:35 in the morning, the cold winter light from the north is flooding my studio and I am watercoloring with a sense of renewed purpose.  Emerson got it right in his first book Nature when he said that nature wears the colors of our spirit, that it indeed reflects back to us what we carry inside.  When I awoke, I needed to draw the quilt a little tighter around me, realizing that the temperatures outside had plummeted, and by the time I arose and put on coffee, I was smiling.

I cannot express the level of satisfaction I am feeling as I poke around at this small watercolor.  The town is coming to life beneath my brush, and I can almost hear the sounds of the winds coming off the Missouri river adjacent to the neighborhood.  I feel once again that exhilaration as I stomped up and down those streets, snapping the shutter of my camera over and over, saying: “THIS would make a wonderful watercolor!”  And now I am doing it.  This New Year holiday and time away from the classroom came at the fulness of time.  My morning meditation over the essays of Emerson certainly kindled my fires and I am happy in this work.

Thanks for reading and Happy New Year.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Nature Wears the Colors of our Spirit”

  1. Xraypics Says:

    I’m watching the development of this picture with delight – have you ever considered making a time-lapse sequence movie of your paintings creating “themselves”? It would be a stunning animation. Having lived through 20 winters in the United Kingdom I am mystified the pleasure you take in the cold. Maybe it’s different in Texas. This year we had our Christmas dinner on the deck with a water sprinkler playing on the roof cooling the area down. Marvelous! It’s whatever takes your fancy… Cheers, Tony

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you. I wonder how such a video would come across. Yes, I love winter weather, snow, etc. I grew up with it. but left it behind in 1977 and really, REALLY miss it. Today has been cold and gray, and that is winter for me. Texas is hot all spring, summer, and fall, and the sun is always blinding. By winter time, I say ENOUGH, ALREADY!

      Like

Leave a Reply

