Creating My World in Watercolor

Detailing with Joy in my Heart

Detailing with Joy in my Heart

The problem of restoring to the world original and eternal beauty is solved by the redemption of the soul.  The ruin or the blank that we see when we look at nature, is in our own eye.  The axis of vision is not coincident with the axis of things, and so they appear not transparent but opaque.  The reason why the world lacks unity, and lies broken and in heaps, is because man is disunited with himself.

Ralph Waldo Emerson, Nature

I laid the watercolor aside for a couple of days, and relaxed.  I return to school tomorrow, so I knew I needed some downtime, and I got it.  This morning, I awoke feeling restive and knew immediately that I needed to return to my Source.  Settling into my favorite reading chair, I scribbled out several pages of journal musings, read some more from Isaacson’s biography on Benjamin Franklin, then turned to Emerson’s Nature.  Twice a year, I introduce my philosophy students to the first half-dozen pages of this publication.  But this morning, I intentionally turned to the final four pages.  The conclusion just hasn’t gotten enough attention from me.  The reading was timely, became an Oracle for me.  I know that my life is obsessed with the pursuit of Beauty, Quality.  And I was struck by Emerson’s notion that we need to redeem ourselves if we are to find redemption and beauty in Nature.  So, I knew it was time to get back to work (play) over the watercolor that’s been composting in my mind the past 48 hours though I haven’t touched it with a brush.

When I bend over and peer into the surface of a watercolor in progress, my world improves dramatically.  This morning, I focussed on details in this little town–a myriad of details probably not seen by passersby, but nevertheless there.  And the longer I looked, the more I enlarged the photo on my laptop screen, the more details I saw, and all of them delighted me.  So . . . I’ve spent a large part of the morning, chipping away at details that probably don’t change the overall appearance of the painting significantly, but nevertheless fill me with a sense of satisfaction.

We’ll see where this one takes me.  Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Creating My World in Watercolor”

  1. lifeofawillow Says:

    Emerson is wonderful. As is your watercolor. Truly.

    Like

  2. gpcox Says:

    Your site is always a treasure of memories.:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

