Back to School, and the Painting Continues

Nearing the Finish of this Hermann, Missouri Watercolor

Every spirit builds itself a house, and beyond its house a world, and beyond its world a heaven.  Know then that the world exists for you.  For you is the phenomenon perfect.  What we are, that only can we see.  All that Adam had, all that Caesar could, you have and can do.  Adam called his house, heaven and earth; Caesar called his house, Rome; you perhaps call yours, a cobbler’s trade; a hundred acres of ploughed land; or a scholar’s garret.  Yet line for line and point for point your dominion is as great as theirs, though without fine names.  Build therefore your own world.

Ralph Waldo Emerson, Nature

Today was the first “teaching” day of school (yesterday was a work day).  I have managed to keep painting on this small watercolor, and have started a second of the same composition (much larger), as well as a couple of experimental still life watercolor sketches.  I just have had problems stopping long enough between school assignments to get the blog up and running again.  This watercolor posted is nearly finished, and should be wrapped up once I put in a solid hour of uninterrupted attention to it.

As the new semester dawns, I am filled with this Emersonian sentiment of building my world from the inside out.  I have a number of ideas percolating about art, literature, philosophy, and am nearly ready to start posting them.  Tomorrow begins a brand new philosophy class.  Enrollment shot up from 16 to 30 between Christmas break and now.  I am anxious to meet them at 7:35 tomorrow morning.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Back to School, and the Painting Continues”

  1. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    This painting creates a feeling of a specific time and place. Nice!
    Right now I am more like Emerson than Caesar or Adam. I am relatively satisfied and comfortable in my skin…no longer thinking competitively or filled with ambition that forces me outside of myself. Its a nice place to be.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you for that compliment. I love your Emersonian sentiment. I’m not sure how to explain my own sentiment–I don’t think I’m competitive with my peers. But I am still hard on myself. I feel driven to do it better, so perhaps I am competing with myself?

      Like

Leave a Reply

