Out of the Void

Resuming work on the Fort Worth Flatiron

Resuming work on the Fort Worth Flatiron

And, as imagination bodies forth

The forms of things unknown, the poet’s pen

Turns them to shapes, and gives to airy nothing

A local habitation and a name.

 

Shakespeare, A Midsummer Night’s Dream

We are currently reading Shakespeare in my English II classes.  Throughout this day, his work has lingered and rendered no small measure of sweetness to my soul.  With every stroke of his pen, he called forth worlds that fed the imaginations of hungry audiences.  And so I have also wished to wield a brush, and shape worlds with my own series of strokes.  After all these years, I am still enchanted by the mystique of watercolor.  While working in the studio, as I did this afternoon, I love to watch worlds emerge, shimmering on the wet surface of the paper.  Perhaps the photographer in the dark room felt the same delight, watching the image form on the photo paper as it lay in the fluid.  As I poke around on a new painting, I feel genuine pleasure watching the developing composition respond to my pencil or brush.  Inch by inch, color by color, line by line, I feel a growing satisfaction watching the painting emerge.

I am seriously considering a change in the composition of this Fort Worth Flatiron.  It was going to be a 9 x 12″ vertical piece, with two additional stories developed below where I am working.  This afternoon, I lay a 10 x 8″ horizontal mat over it, and have just about decided I have gone far enough down, and may perhaps move to the right and finish out the cornice and upper story.  I like the horizontal look I saw this afternoon.  So . . . I’ll let this one rest a bit more, and decide later how exactly I want to finish it out.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Out of the Void”

  1. Linda Halcomb Says:

    I always play around with mats and cropping if I am unhappy with a painting. It seems to bring a whole new set of responses.

    Like

  2. Skeeter Says:

    David – I was wondering if the brickwork, and the lettering of “FLATIRON” is done in pencil. I didn’t know if you used watercolor pencil or not. I love to zoom in and look at your progress as you work your way through these paintings.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Hi. Yes, I’m using an HB pencil for the brick lines in this piece, and occasionally a Dark Brown Prismacolor Verithin pencil (keeping the point as sharp as possible). Sometimes I use watercolor pencils, but I’m not using them for brick lines in this one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

