Watercoloring Late into the Spring Night

Painting Late into the Night

Painting Late into the Night

As best we could, we have just pointed out and then explained color as living matter; like the body of a living being.  Now we must talk about its soul, that elusive fluid which by means of intelligence and the heart has created so much and stirred so much–about color that helps our imagination to soar, opening a new door onto mystery and the infinite. We cannot explain it, but perhaps indirectly, by using a comparison, we can suggest its language.

Paul Gauguin, “Miscellaneous Things,” from The Writings of a Savage

This night is getting late, but I am enjoying the mix of reading from Gauguin and exploring color in this small 8 x 10″ watercolor.  Funny how I feel that the older I get, the less I know about color, even though I seem to be learning things at a much faster pace than when I was younger.  In a few days, I’ll teach a watercolor workshop, and already wonder how much these new discoveries will disrupt my comfort zone as a teacher.  That is no doubt a silly anxiety.  We are all in pursuit of improvement, and just need the constant reminder that teachers aren’t expected to know it all.  The truly educated never graduate.  I am, for all practical purposes, still a student, and an enthusiastic one at that.

So far, this Spring Break has provided a delicious respite from the daily grind.  It is pure joy to soak up the quiet of the studio late at night, to enjoy reading, to enjoy chipping away at a watercolor.  Life is good.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

