Early Morning Watch in the Studio

Rising Early to Paint

Rising Early to Paint

Every morning was a cheerful invitation to make my life of equal simplicity, and I may say innocence, with Nature herself.  I have been as sincere a worshipper of Aurora as the Greeks.

Henry David Thoreau, Walden

Daylight Saving Time still has my circadian rhythms out of whack.  I sat up reading until 2:00 a.m., and still awoke at 6:00 which is my normal time to rise on workday mornings.  Spring Break has been sweet up to this point, and I am now glad that I decided to rise at my normal time.  Already I’m on my second cup of coffee and have poured a ton of attention into this Bait Shop watercolor.  The morning light is flooding my studio and I am enjoying the quiet serenity that envelops me.

Painting the human figure still terrifies me.  I am out of my element.  Having spent hours visiting the Hopper exhibition that recently closed at the Dallas Museum of Art, I have resolved to study and sketch the human figure and incorporate these studies into my watercolors.  I believe my biggest fear is making these innocent people look like caricatures or cartoons, even though I think many of Edward Hopper’s masterpieces render the human figure in the likeness of a comic strip.  I need to stop worrying about this and just proceed.  I have four people in this reference photo taken last November, and most of my attention this morning has been on them.  For better or worse, I believe I’ll be finished with this piece by lunch time.  Then I hope to return to my large painting of Hermann, Missouri.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Early Morning Watch in the Studio”

  1. djdfr Says:

    “caricatures or cartoons” No, they do not.

    Some comic strips are works of art. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

