Watercoloring a Winter Midwestern Town

Resumption of the Hermann, Missouri watercolor

Resumption of the Hermann, Missouri watercolor

But at the same time this question arises and I am perplexed: where does the painting of a picture begin and where does it end?  At the instant when extreme feelings are merging in the deepest core of one’s being, at the instant when they burst and all one’s thoughts gush forth like lava from a volcano, doesn’t the suddenly created work erupt, brutally perhaps, but in a grand and apparently superhuman way?  Reason’s cold calculations have not led to this eruption; but who can say exactly when the work was begun in one’s heart of hearts?  Perhaps it is unconscious.

Paul Gauguin, letter to Monfreid, Autust 15, 1989, Papeete

I’ve poured a ton of energy into the watercolors today, and am starting to feel the fatigue.  So, I believe I’ll let this painting lie as it is for awhile.  There is always tomorrow.  This particular work leaves me feeling as though I’m working a jigsaw puzzle.  I’m starting to get lost in all the interlocking pieces.  I spent most of today’s efforts on the left side, working on the cupola and foliage.  I also added more pieces to the developing town at center right.  But my eyes are starting to say “Enough.”

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Watercoloring a Winter Midwestern Town”

  1. J Haeske Says:

    You are not alone and this is looking pretty good already. J

    Like

  2. Susan Jensen Says:

    I just ‘happened’ upon your blog and what a treasure I feel I have found. I was entranced by your words and the stories you share, thank you so much, what a delight to have found your blog. Your painting is inspirational as are your words. And I am happy to be a follower now. Thank you so much.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      You just made my day, Susan, thank you. I am coming off an extended road trip and watercolor workshop and am exhausted. Later today, I’ll post what has happened over the past four days on the Gulf. Thank you so much for following me and for your kind words.

      Like

Leave a Reply

