Thoughts in All Directions

Displaying at Art in the Park.  Kennedale, Texas

Displaying at Art in the Park. Kennedale, Texas

What pleases me is that I am acquiring reason without losing the emotions evoked by beauty.  I certainly do not want to deceive myself, but it seems to me that I am working more calmly than ever before, and I have the same love for my work. . . . What are most real to me, are the illusions that I create with my painting.  the rest is shifting sand.

Eugene Delacroix, Journal, February 27, 1824

One of Delacroix greatest gifts to me, personally, is the Journal he left behind.  I appreciate his paintings and what he contributed to the rising tide of Romanticism in the history of art.  But daily, I am surprised by his thoughts, and have spent considerable time over this past week lingering over ideas inspired by him.  His statement above resonates with me, because he testifies that his intellect balanced his emotions in the act of painting.  Historians, I believe, overstate Romanticism to make it more teachable, contrasting it with Neoclassicism to throw it into bolder relief.  And I have no problem with that.  At least we have the written words of one of the major players on that stage, emphasizing reason’s role in the creation of his art.

Though I’ve gone a week without posting to the blog, my mind has been focused on painting.  There just have been too many work-related deadlines to meet, along with the day-to-day maintenance issues with living.  But it has been a good week, the blog lacuna notwithstanding.  Currently I am in the midst of a three-day art festival about ten minutes from my home.  I was glad to awaken this morning after a good night’s sleep (yesterday’s load-in and set up left me quite achy and sore).  Rising refreshed, I was glad to know I had about two hours before having to return to the festival scene.  Hence, my quiet moments before the computer screen to put this together.  The coffee was good too.

I am taking my watercolor supplies to the booth with me today.  If time allows, I will work on a small watercolor sketch–something I have wanted to do all week but was prohibited by other deadlines.

Thanks for reading, for staying with me.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

 

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Thoughts in All Directions”

  1. ann Says:

    Good morning, I wish your art showings were not so far away from me. Is there any chance of you coming to the art festival held every summer in Laguna Beach Ca? Have a great showing this weekend!

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Ann, you have been such a loyal supporter and encourager. Maybe I could get out to the west coast when I am retired. As for now, I would probably take a big loss, driving all my gear out there for a festival set up. Right now, being full-time employed, I just do shows in driving range of my home.

      Like

  2. Playamart - Zeebra Designs Says:

    mats! oh, david, i did not realize how i missed simle conveniences like mats – an entire queue of them all matching and perfect and tenderly organized!    i have to get thin plywood and cut the window, sand, paint, (it’s horrid) and then paint the mat to match the painting, and it turns out ok, even better, but wow what a lot of work to do AFTER the painting is finished!

    when i return to the states, i think i’ll get a huge batch of pre-cut mats!  (but paper often molds in the rainy season…)

    count your blessings that you live where ‘accessories’ are easy to find!

    ________________________________

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      I’m quite the lazy one. I choose pre-cut mats because I do such a poor job cutting them (though I’m still working on that!) and I also find it much quicker just to drop my watercolor into a pre-cut mat and plastic sleeve. Sorry to hear about the moisture problems inherent to your environment. That would have to be frustrating for one who works in paper.

      Like

Leave a Reply

