If I Would Have to Choose a Sleepless Night . . .

Lunar Eclipse Over Arlington, Texas.  2:00 a.m.

Lunar Eclipse Over Arlington, Texas. 2:00 a.m.

Lunar Eclipse in Full Zoom (with Shaky Hands)

Lunar Eclipse in Full Zoom (with Shaky Hands)

. . . I suppose it would have to be this one.  I couldn’t sleep tonight.  Once the clock rolled toward 2:00 a.m., I decided to rise, dress warmly for a 44-degree night, and step into my backyard to witness a full lunar eclipse.  In these parts, they don’t come around very often.  In fact, the last time I witnessed a full lunar eclipse was on the night of September 26, 1996.  I attempted a Prismacolor rendering of that splendorous sight in my journal:

Journal drawing from 1996 viewing of lunar eclipse

Journal drawing from 1996 viewing of lunar eclipse

I’ll have to rise to teach in about three-and-a-half hours.  I’m still not sleepy, and filled with good thoughts about what I witnessed in the stillness of my backyard tonight.

Thanks for reading.

Tags:

4 Responses to “If I Would Have to Choose a Sleepless Night . . .”

  1. Barbara Tyler Says:

    Thanks, Dr. Tripp, for the photos and sketch memories of the lunar eclipse. I too saw it and stood amazed. I find that eclipses of the moon make it look less like a shiny, two-dimensional dime and more rounded, like the real orb it is. When I think about a long shadow caste by another orb, our earth, it makes me stand in awe at how huge our universe really is.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you for sharing your experience, Barbara. I wondered how many would get up to watch this one. For me, “it WAS worth losing sleep over.” 🙂
      Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

      Like

  2. Heidi Russell Says:

    Spectacular! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

