Palimpsest

New Watercolor Sketch over the Lunch Hour

New Watercolor Sketch over the Lunch Hour

The creative process is determined not only by the medium but also by the inner vision.

Edouard Manet

I decided to come home from school over the lunch hour and begin a second watercolor sketch of the same subject as the one I attempted late last night.  I titled this blog entry Palimpsest which refers to a manuscript or piece of writing material on which the original writing has been effaced to make room for later writing but of which traces remain.  I could have called most of my past oil and acrylic-on-canvas paintings palimpsests, because I continued to revise and obliterate my earlier rescensions of design.  I do some of that in watercolor as well, but late last night decided to begin a series of sketches of the same Victorian house and compare them side-by-side to get a sense of what I want to do next.  Next month I will begin my annual plein air excursion to Waxahachie, Texas, a German town rich in Victorian and Gingerbread architecture.  This year I would like to feel more practiced and primed for those kinds of compositions that I will do on location.  For now, I’m studying photos that I’ve taken over the years, hoping to improve my skills in architectural rendering and composition.

Thanks for reading.  I need to get back for an afternoon class.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

4 Responses to “Palimpsest”

  1. coreyaber Says:

    Very cool. I like this one emerging from behind the pencil drawing. In comparison with yours from yesterday, I think this is a bit more compelling because the contrast of painted and drawn is starker. It’s like looking at two worlds or two time periods at once.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thanks, Corey. I’ve gotten cold and timid with drawing. Last night I was quite frozen, today a little looser (maybe tomorrow, looser still?). I’m feeling out of practice and really want to get back into shape. I’ve let work intrude too much on my art. Glad to see you’re still aggressively at it on your end of the world. I salute you.

      Like

  2. Ingidisa/Jiuhl Says:

    I admire your patience for your art. If I’m not splashing paint or waving a brush, I’m frustrated. Pencils and sketching drive me mad, yet I love this work from others. You’re a wonderful artist, both disciplined and spirited. 🙂

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Oh, thank you! I’ve been rather shaky and out-of-practice with my pencil work lately. I’m trying to get it back. Just need more time, effort and practice. But thanks so much for your post. Comments like this keep me going!

      Like

Leave a Reply

