Days Immersed in the Arts are Better than Days Without Them

Work in Progress on a Small Clock Tower

Work in Progress on a Small Clock Tower

The arts open up a dimension of reality which is otherwise hidden, and they open up our own being for receiving this reality. . . . Only the arts can do this: science, philosophy, moral action and religious devotion cannot.  The artists bring to our senses, and through them to our whole being, something of the depth of our world and of ourselves, something of the mystery of being.”

Paul Tillich, Address given before the National Conference of Church Architects

I have been making studies of this beautiful clock tower in a small park near where I live.  Several years ago, I designed a masthead of this image for an art festival poster.  Now it is time to attempt a real watercolor of the subject.  The setting is Kennedale, Texas where I have enjoyed their Annual Art in the Park for about five years now.  The park is beautifully landscaped and offers a perfect setting for an art venue.’  My booth has always been set up just beneath this clock tower, and I have spent many hours during three-day festival weekends admiring its verticality and sleek lines.  I have also enjoyed gazing at the rose bushes planted beneath.

Though I haven’t posted for awhile, I have been working on a series of watercolors almost nightly.  So far, the paintings are not really far enough along to photograph.  I’m a poor photographer and my pencil renderings that start out the compositions don’t pick up well when I try to post them digitally.  But I have two large watercolors in progress that I will be putting on the blog as soon as they have suffiicent color to make the subjects recognizable.  Both are paintings of local landmarks.

I posted the Paul Tillich quote because I just finished my second day lecturing on his life and work in my high school Philosophy class.  I also enjoy introducing him to twentieth-century art interpretations in my Art History classes because of his insightful remarks about the visual arts.  My soul resonates with his comments on the way art opens up avenues to us not as accessible through other academic disciplines.  Throughout this year, a circle of students have demonstrated this to me weekly as they’ve gathered to discuss art, literature and the vitalities of life.  I am most fortunate to be included in these weekly conversations.

This is an excellent afternoon for painting–outside the Texas skies are very dark and the thunderstorms are rather violent.  I’m glad to be sheltered, and the sounds of the rolling thunder are soothing to me as I pore over this watercolor project.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

 

 

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Days Immersed in the Arts are Better than Days Without Them”

  1. lifeincolors Says:

    The title of this post is perfect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

