A Day Filled with Andrew Wyeth Images

Not Coming Back

Not Coming Back

I think one’s art goes as far and as deep as one’s love goes.  I see no reason for painting but that.  If I have anything to offer, it is my emotional contact with the place where I live and the people I do.”

Andrew Wyeth, quoted in Richard Meryman, Andrew Wyeth, Houghton-Mifflin, 1968

All day today in my high school Art History classes, we have been examining the art of Andrew Wyeth.  Such days make me sad to be stuck indoors in a classroom with no windows.  I am posting this image of one of my first plein air watercolors, painted about six years ago in Waxahachie.  It was the first time I participated in the Paint Historic Waxahachie competition, a week-long event that draws over fifty artists from around the area.  I was scared at wit’s end to paint from life as I had been depending on photos in the studio for a number of years.  After several days of stumbling about on the courthouse square, painting downtown store fronts, I happened across this abandoned residence about a block north of the square.  The longer I sat in the shade of the large tree and worked on this rendering, the more I was struck by the dual sense of profound loss and exhilarating presence.  Every detail of this house seemed to whisper some record of history.  I will always be grateful that I paused long enough on the adjacent vacant lot to crank out this rough sketch, because when I returned the following year to repeat the event, I found only a foundation remaining where this derelict house once stood.  Even today when I drive past the location, I am saddened at the clearing.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

 

 

Tags:

8 Responses to “A Day Filled with Andrew Wyeth Images”

  1. Xraypics Says:

    I love the light touch on this one. Tony

    Like

  2. Barbara Tyler Says:

    This is a beautiful piece! I like the tree shadows especially. It gives the image motion and, if I use my imagination, I can hear the wind moving the shadows around. I know that ironic feeling of sadness when dilapidated buildings and locations are razed. There were some 70s-era gas pumps at a boarded up convenience store on Little road. I photographed them a couple of times and glad I did because now they are gone. Reminds me to seize the day (as often as possible).

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you, Barbara. It’s always sad to see something removed that we cared enough to capture in painting or photography. At least we have some kind of record to hold in our possession, something to hold the memory dear.

      Like

  3. Deanna Tennent Masterson Says:

    The Wyeth quote is beautiful & I’m saving it. ‘Not Coming Back’ is wondrous in it’s simplicity & feeling. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  4. BJR Says:

    Love, love this! I, too, am saddened when houses are removed. I think of all the living that’s been inside throughout the years. I love old houses…so glad you shared this. The “spirit” of the house comes through!

    Like

Leave a Reply

