Plein Air Watercoloring in Ferris, Texas

Abandoned Structure in Ferris, Texas

Abandoned Structure in Ferris, Texas

Language is the house of Being.

Martin Heidegger

Sunday morning, like Saturday, I awoke to a 68-degree temperature with plenty of sun and pleasant breezes.  I chose this morning to try out Ferris, Texas, and found more subjects than I could paint in a week.  The first structure I saw on the west side of downtown was this one I’ve posted.  The moment I saw it, I thought of an Andrew Wyeth watercolor titled “Prevailing Wind” that I saw a couple of years ago in an exhibition at the Tyler Museum of Art.

"Prevailing Wind" by Andrew Wyeth

“Prevailing Wind” by Andrew Wyeth

I feel embarrassed to say that I tried “channeling Andrew Wyeth”, but he is my idol, and he certainly was on my mind the entire time I worked on this plein air composition.  I thoroughly relished this opportunity, the sun was nice and strong on the building, and I was shivering with wonder as I worked at reproducing that cupola on the watercolor paper with the trees framing it.  I always find corrugated rusted iron a problem to do in watercolor, and am never satisfied with my results.  I chose to stop early on this one, and not overwork it the way I did yesterday’s gas station.

This composition I tried on 140 lb. D’Arches hot pressed paper.  I abandoned hot pressed paper about eight years ago, because I found it difficult to layer washes without wiping out what was put on earlier.  I have to say that I found this slick surface a comfort to draw on, and I rather enjoyed what was happening with this sketch.  I think I’m going to try some more watercolors on hot press surfaces and see where it takes me.  I prepared this paper by soaking it and stretching it on a canvas stretcher.  The winds dried out the work very quickly, making it much easier to work outdoors with speed.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Plein Air Watercoloring in Ferris, Texas”

  1. sedge808 Says:

    your work is stunning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

