Unmasking the Picket Fence

18 x 24" Watercolor of Historic Louisiana Home

18 x 24″ Watercolor of Historic Louisiana Home

An artist has got to get acquainted with himself just as much as he can.  It is no easy job, for it is not a present-day habit of humanity.  This is what I call self-development, self-education.  No matter how fine a school you are in, you have to educate yourself.

Robert Henri, The Art Spirit

Today was a day requiring a large measure of self-motivation.  The classes this morning were long, as was the one this afternoon.  There were a lot of grades to record, and I just didn’t feel like it, but managed to do the task nevertheless.  By school’s end, my body was totally exhausted.  But I pushed myself toward Waxahachie, and am so glad that I only needed an hour to straighten out the watercolor that yesterday started out so badly.  Driving home, I felt the weariness descend again.  I had a substantial stack of papers to grade for tomorrow morning’s class, and this large studio watercolor that I’ve tried to keep developing.  Somehow I managed to reach deep enough within to do what I needed to do.  I’m quite satisfied that what needed to happen, happened.

I’ve removed the masking fluid from the picket fence and am glad to see that it is popping out against its background the way I had hoped it would do.  The Indian paintbrush in the foreground also seems to be off to a pretty good beginning.  And the white building is managing to peep through the foliage O.K.  I’m glad it’s going the way I’ve wanted it to do.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

 

4 Responses to “Unmasking the Picket Fence”

  1. BJR Says:

    This looks very authentic to Louisiana! Having close family there, and spending time there the past three yrs…this looks very nice! Glad you could push through…and complete what you hoped to.

    Like

  2. Xraypics Says:

    Never been to that part of the world, but your painting is progressing stunningly. Like the way the picket fence focuses the eye. It wasn’t till I looked at the full-screen picture that I noticed the figures on the front. What a lot of work but how satisfying. Do you find that when exhausted the painting process rejuvenates the mind? Tony

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Yes, painting does lift me more than anything else. And I have been very exhausted in the evenings while working on this. That’s why it’s taking much longer. I can’t bend over it for hours at a session when I’m tired like this. Thanks so much for your positive comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

