Finding Some Quiet Amidst the Frenetic Work

Completion of the Historic Louisiana Home in Watercolor

Completion of the Historic Louisiana Home in Watercolor

It is a great relief when for a few moments in the day we can retire to our chamber and be completely true to ourselves.   It leavens the rest of our hours.

Henry David Thoreau, Journal, March 20, 1841

I am posting this image of the watercolor, because I have finished and signed it.  Another chapter closed.  On to the next.  I choose not to post all the details of today, because it was nonstop work, and the only relief from the constant appointments kept was the quiet moment I was allowed to sink in a chair and drink from Thoreau’s Journal.  My oh my, but his still waters ran deep, and while he was so young.  He died at age forty-four, and already I am second-guessing my contribution to life by age sixty.  I am happy to have been enriched by him, and would love to learn more of how to emulate his life’s philosophy.  No matter how my days get filled with appointment details, I am most true to myself when I am quiet and reflective.  This past couple of weeks has been brutal for me because I was always on the go, and I never liked living that way.  Though I have scarcely more than a week off between spring semester and summer school, today and yesterday have already made me feel as though I was on vacation, even though I have accumulated only a few hours of “chair time against countless hours of appointments and painting deadlines.”

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

 

Tags:

2 Responses to “Finding Some Quiet Amidst the Frenetic Work”

  1. Deanna Tennent Masterson Says:

    Your greens are beautiful in this painting…it reminds me of the historic homes in Virginia. The ladies in their finery & the coach & horse approaching tell a lovely story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

