The Quiet Seam Between the Noisy Fabrics

Wednesday Morning in my Quiet and Tidied Studio

Wednesday Morning in my Quiet and Tidied Studio

Between the idea

And the reality

Between the motion

And the act

Falls the Shadow

For Thine is the Kingdom

 

Between the conception

And the creation

Between the emotion

And the response

Falls the Shadow

Life is very long

 

Between the desire

And the spasm

Between the potency

And the existence

Between the essence

And the descent

Falls the Shadow

For Thine is the Kingdom

T. S. Eliot, “The Hollow Men”

Today, Wednesday, was my first day since clearing out the dangling debris of details associated with the end of school and the Paint Historic Waxahachie event.  I slept in, not setting an alarm.  And the full night’s rest was delicious, almost as delicious as an entire morning free of appointments and engagements.  I found the readings from the Journals of Thoreau deeply enriching, along with a collection of poems from T. S. Eliot.  I also happened across some fresh ideas for new watercolors that I am ready to pursue.  Poring over books of illustrations from Edward Hopper and Andrew Wyeth have added this new fuel to my fire.

Currently I’m working on tonal, compositional sketches of the watercolor I am ready to pursue next.  My photography does a lousy job of posting pencil drawings, so I’ll wait until my actual painting to put up the new images.  But so far, I’m enthused about these new possibilities.  I’m using both Hopper and Wyeth for my models in this new watercolor pursuit.  I’m still finding my own voice somewhere in the seam between those two masters.  And speaking of seams: it’s nice to find this quiet zone between the recent storms of activity and the gathering storm of my new watercolor output.  The rest is doing me some good.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not really alone.

4 Responses to “The Quiet Seam Between the Noisy Fabrics”

  1. Cheryl Rose Says:

    David, reading your blog gives me such a sense of tranquility. I feel the peace of being in the country, on the front porch and taking in all of God’s glory. I know you’ve heard this a thousand times. Your writing is wonderful, even when you talk about the hectic pace that it gets sometimes. You write the way you paint. Amazing!

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Cheryl, I can’t recall being more moved than I am now by your post, thank you. I have not heard this a thousand times, and even if I did, it would never fall on deaf ears. I love to write, and often wonder if my words could get through to readers. I’m glad when my painting reaches people, but I’m always glad to know when the words I choose “matter.” So thank you very much.

      Like

  2. Deanna Tennent Masterson Says:

    Never saw your windows before…now I see how ‘the light gets in’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

