Watching the Changing Atmosphere throughout the Day

Changing the Atmosphere Surrounding the House

Changing the Atmosphere Surrounding the House

I read history as little critically as I consider the landscape, and am more interested in the atmospheric tints and various lights and shades which the intervening spaces create than in its groundwork and composition.  It is the morning now turned evening and seen in the west,–the same sun, but a new light and atmosphere.

Henry David Thoreau, Journal, August 7, 1841

I spent most of this day dividing my time between the writings of Thoreau and this emerging watercolor.  I love Thoreau’s analogy of regarding history as one does a changing landscape, with the focus on atmosphere, change, progression, etc.  As I watched this painting emerging from my brush throughout the day, I began to consider atmospheric changes in the surrounding landscape, and worked to create that effect. I altered the colors and textures in the distant trees, and tried to remove most of the highlights from the weedpatch in the foreground.   I’m nearly finished, I believe.  It is time to set this aside and look at it across the room for a few hours or even a few days.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to keep from feeling quite alone.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Watching the Changing Atmosphere throughout the Day”

  1. Xraypics Says:

    I love that you take your photos with such high resolution, it means one can get in close and personal with the texture of paper and spread of colours. Like you, I find time spent just to siting looking at the image is invaluable, allowing the spirit of the paint to teach, and to make decisions regarding the next move. Tony

    Like

Leave a Reply

