Further Work on My Town

Small Watercolor of Abandoned Store in Winfield, Missouri

Small Watercolor of Abandoned Store in Winfield, Missouri

Very ordinary town, if you ask me.  Little better behaved than most.  Probably a lot duller.

Thornton Wilder, Our Town, Act I.

Grover’s Corners in Our Town came to mind when I saw this abandoned store in Winfield, Missouri about four summers ago.  I was driving north on Highway 79, flanking the Mississippi River, when the sun rose in the east and gently washed the dusty store facades of this sleepy town.  I got out of my Jeep and took over a dozen pictures of the remains of this antique store.  The main street remained quiet the entire time I walked about, and the shadows seemed to hide dozens of secrets.  As I reopen this watercolor series I’m calling “My Town”, I will look for some kind of identity to place on this storefront.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Further Work on My Town”

  1. coreyaber Says:

    I like the paintings you’ve done of this storefront and am looking forward to you developing the My Town series further. I hope you get into writing fiction for it as well, or even poetry. There’s are three great Calvino collections that might be interesting to you as you pursue this series: “Invisible Cities,” “Mr. Paloma’s,” and “Marcovaldo, or Seasons in the City.” When reading those I thought something in that vignette style would go perfectly with paintings.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Corey, thanks a million for that lead. I do not know the work of Calvino and am delighted to meet a new muse. I feel a tad awkward writing fiction and poetry, but want to, nevertheless. Thank you for your encouragement.

      Like

Leave a Reply

