A Morning with Aristotle

Aristotle Drawing/Collage

Aristotle Drawing/Collage

All men by nature desire to know.

Aristotle, Metaphysics

Vacation, for me, means not going to my everyday job, though many of my work habits may remain the same.  And so this morning, without an alarm, I was awake by 5:56, and, following a good breakfast with coffee, thought it best to give myself to the study of logic while my mind was awake and fresh.  This fall, I will teach a logic course online for the first time in my life.  Though I have taught the subject in classrooms several times, the experience of assembling a course online is totally new, and I have to think of teaching the discipline from a way never done before.  I was glad to have a few days without school, so I could focus without interruption on this new venture.

Upon completion of my first third of the semester, I felt the itch to pursue an Aristotle collage, since he is regarded as the Father of Logic.  I have always been charmed by the opening of his Metaphysics–“All men by nature desire to know.”  Hence this quick drawing/collage of the Great Philosopher.

It’s never interesting to discuss housekeeping issues, but I am pleased with myself that I used several stretch breaks last night and this morning from my logic studies to tidy some rooms in my house that have turned into junk rooms.  And I have surprised myself in that one of the rooms (my former study) is about 75% junk-free, and I can barely recognize the space–I could actually go into that room and set up another work area to pursue one of my other hobbies.  Perhaps by the time this vacation ends, I’ll have all the rooms of my dwellling debris-free.  And that, to me, would be a most satisfying accomplishment.

Oh well–back to logic!

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am never alone.

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

