Coming Back Home

My Restored Study

My Restored Study

Wherever I sat, there I might live, and the landscape radiated from me accordingly. . . . The morning wind forever blows, the poem of creation is uninterrupted, but few are the ears that hear it.

Henry David Thoreau, Walden

Last night I finally finished the clearing out and refurbishing of the study that I abandoned about three years ago.  It took a long time to get rid of all the debris that had been stacked and piled into this second bedroom-turned-warehouse.  This Saturday morning, rising at 6:00, I gladly took possession of this space once again, and sat in the stillness reading, while the sounds of Handel’s “Messiah” wafted down the hallway from my distant bedroom.  The dawn was breaking, the light peeking through the windows was beautiful, and I was once again in my element.  In this chamber for over a decade, I saw many beautiful ideas and art forms come to life, and cranked out many pages of manuscript.  It is time for these things to happen once again in this environment.

At the time of this writing, I have finished yet another huge installment to my fall semester Logic course, have written extensively in my journal, read another portion of Moby Dick (finally finishing that New Bedford chapel sermon), did some translating from the Hebrew Bible and Septuagint (Psalm 1) and now turn my attention to clearning out the third bedroom that has accumulated debris over the past couple of years.  By the time I return to school Monday, I intend to be living in every room of this house, instead of just the front end.  It’s a good feeling.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Coming Back Home”

  1. Playamart - Zeebra Designs Says:

    well it sounds as if you are emerging from a time of incubation and are stepping into a renaissance… congratulations – i suspect there are/were some disappointments that triggered the incubation,and there are some new goals that have inspired you! we’re getting older but wiser and better!

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Your words struck just the right chords, thank you. I wish I could respond in detail, but I cannot. Thank you for recognizing the strains that tug at the heart of all those who wish to create something beautiful. Yes, I believe in renaissance, always hope, and always glory in eacy new rebirth. So nice to hear from you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

